Scavengers

Photobucket

Last night, we were looking at pictures from our trip to Greece. One of the pictures was taken from the ferry boat and showed about 100 seagulls trailing behind it. Parker wanted to know why so many seagulls followed the ferry boats. I explained that the boat’s motor churned up the water and lots of fish were inadvertently pushed to the surface of the water. The seagulls were just waiting for a fish to break the surface so they could grab it.
He looked at me and said, “Oh. Kind of how Nona follows me around, waiting for me to drop food?
Precisely, Parker. Precisely.
You see, the dogs are nothing more than scavengers these days. They serve as both vacuum cleaner and mop. I had always thought that the reason they followed Parker and not us is because they instinctively knew that if anyone was going to drop crumbs, it would be him. But then, this morning, I saw something. That something was Parker dropping little bits of crumbs to the dogs on purpose.
When I asked him about the crumb dropping, he said, “Mommy, it would be sad if Nona followed me around without getting a little something for it. Besides, if she can sleep in my room, why can’t she eat my food?”
I said, “Parker, why do you keep just talking about Nona? What about Chewie?” His response? “But mommy, Chewie is just a dog.”
I’m certain that Nona would agree most emphatically with that statement.
2 thoughts on “Scavengers

  1. aunt meg July 29, 2010 / 8:35 pm

    LOL!!! poor, sweet little chewy. 🙂

  2. Cyn July 29, 2010 / 9:01 pm

    He is a sweet boy. Don't feel too bad for him though. He usually eats his raw hide and then steals Nona's when she's not looking!

Leave a Reply

