Fasolakia

Photobucket

One of the wonderful produce items that we picked up at our neighbor’s farm stand was 3 lbs. of green beans. They were just harvested that morning and I couldn’t wait to cook them up. We decided to go two with different recipes since we had so many beans, one of which I will share here today and the other (an Irishman-requested dish, which I consider an abomination of fresh produce) will not be mentioned further. Suffice it to say that it involved a pound of bacon and bacon fat.

Back to the fasolakia. These do take a bit of time to cook (about two hours), but they are hearty and delicious and definitely worth the wait. Now that I think of it, I don’t think I’ve ever eaten fresh green beans cooked a different way. In our house, it would have been a sacrilege. Since my mother has been making this weekly for decades, I went straight to the source for this recipe. Here are her instructions verbatim.

Dear Cyndy,

This is such an easy and tasty dish. First wash the fasolakia and snip the ends.

Usually for 2 pounds of
fasolakia I use the following ingredients:

1 large onion, chopped
1 clove of garlic, chopped
1 chopped Cubanelle or bell pepper (Yiayia likes to add a few pieces from a hot pepper and I do the same at home. I have one chilli pepper in the freezer and add 3 or 4 thin slices for a little kick)
1/2 cup olive oil
1 can of stewed tomatoes (or substiture with fresh very red and soft tomatoes)
2 baking potatoes, peeled and cut into big chunks
1/2 cup fresh parsley
Salt and pepper to taste

Lightly saute the onion, pepper and garlic in oil. Add the fasolakia and saute those too for about 5 minutes. Add the tomatoes. Rinse the can with about 3/4 cup water and add that too.


Cook for about 60 minutes in medium heat. Add the potatoes about 20 minutes into the cooking process. Keep an eye on the water. If they are dry add another 1/2 cup hot water.

Add the salt, pepper and parsley and let it cook for another 30 or 40 minutes. The fasolakia need to be cooked well and have some juice.

I am sure I did not forget any ingredients this time.

Love,
Mom

Well, there you have it folks. From my mom’s 1975 kitchen straight to yours!
Leave a Reply

