Fish Tacos

Photobucket
Lord have mercy on my taste buds. These fish tacos were so incredibly tasty that I’m going to be hard pressed not to make them daily. Let me begin by saying that I have no idea where I got this recipe from. I was cleaning out my office yesterday when I found a manila folder filled with different recipes. Some were torn out of magazines, some were printed off of the internet and this particular one was scribbled on a piece of paper. Perhaps someone verbally recited it to me years ago or perhaps I saw it on Food Network? The source remains a mystery, but God bless whoever came up with this.
Okay, here’s what you’ll need:
For the fish:
1 pound of a white fish (I used flounder, but tilapia would be great too)
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon garlic salt
(or just cheat and sprinkle taco seasoning on there)
For the sauce (just mix it all together in a bowl):
1/2 cup mayo
1/2 cup sour cream
1/2 teaspoon dill
1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
1/2 teaspoon cumin
(I didn’t actually measure the spices out, I just sprinkled a bit of each)
1 whole lemon juiced
Other ingredients:
1 package flour tortillas
1 package cole slaw mix
2 cups shredded cheese (monterey jack or cheddar is fine)
Alright, start off by sprinkling your fish with the spices and baking it or broiling until it flakes easily (usually in about 6 minutes or so). I baked mine in a 400 degree oven simply because I don’t like the broiler that we have.
While the fish is cooking, I mixed all of the ingredients for the sauce together and I set it aside.
Then, I put a large skillet over high heat, sprayed it with canola oil and (once hot) lightly fried a tortilla. I left it on there until the tortilla started to bubble. I folded it as soon as I took it off of the skillet and left it folded to cool.
Once the fish is done, it’s time to build the tacos. First, I put cheese on the shell. Then, I added the fish, followed by a handful of the cole slaw mix. Finally, I added a generous helping of the sauce. And that’s it!
Seriously, these fish tacos made me so happy. They are flavorful and crisp and just exotic enough to feel like a treat. Now, I just need to invite some people over so that I can serve them to others and share my happiness. It’s a double treat that these are quite healthy, full of protein and filling in a very satisfying way.
Now please, go out and make these today. It really is the right thing to do and your loved ones will thank you.

Leave a Reply

