Spilling the Beans

Photobucket
Oh my goodness does it feel good to finally share our wonderful news! It also is an incredible relief to be able to tell you that I’ve been nauseas for about 2 months now and have not been able to consume much beyond starch (potatoes, pasta, rice, bread…), hence the serious drop-off in recipes on this little blog. Let’s hope the second trimester is better in the food consumption department. My other main symptom is this incredible fatigue. By about 3-4pm, I’m simply exhausted and it’s all I can do to finish up my day before crashing around 7:30pm…you know, a whopping 1 hour before my regular geriatric bedtime.
I can’t even begin to describe the incredible range of emotions that I’ve gone through over the last 10 weeks. Directly on the heels of pure joy came terror, apprehension, fear and above all, a fierce protectiveness of Parker. I never want him to feel brushed aside or replaced, so we included him from the second that we found out that I was pregnant. He had a hoot calling up our families and telling them that he was going to be a big brother.
While I’ve been much more relaxed during this pregnancy that I was with Parker, there’s still that tiny seed of fear that worms into your thoughts during the first trimester. By the time you make it to your first ultrasound appointment, you’re laying on the examination table fervently hoping that you’ll be greeted by the sight of a heartbeat. And when you see that beautiful heartbeat, your own heart just floods with relief and delight. There’s nothing quite like seeing that little bean for the first time. Wiggling their little body and flexing their limbs, they become real to you in that moment. I actually said aloud, “Well, hello there.”
So for the next six and a half months, it’s time to catch up on sleep, love on my boys and revel in the thought that a little person is growing in my womb by leaps and bounds. We feel so incredibly blessed to get to go on this crazy ride a second time around.
One thought on “Spilling the Beans

  1. Courtney September 14, 2010 / 10:59 pm

    Congrats!!!! Congrats!!! Congrats!!!!! XOOXOXOXOXXOXOX

Leave a Reply

