Sweet Cornbread

Photobucket
When I was 9 months pregnant with Parker, I had an intense craving for cornbread. So, a group of us went to Smokey Bones, a rib joint that served a scrumptious skillet cornbread with honey butter, so that I could get my fix. Well, the unthinkable happened. They were out of cornbread. I believe my exact words were, “What do you mean you are out of cornbread?” It wasn’t a rational response, but I was hugely pregnant and quite ornery. I sighed in exasperation and told the server, “I guess that I’ll have donuts instead.” The server took off to fill our order and then timidly came back to your table. Virtually hiding behind the pad she was holding, she quietly informed me that they were out of donuts too. It was almost too much for me to handle. I didn’t know whether to burst into tears or throttle the poor girl who had nothing to do with their inventory. I would have walked out right then and there if it wasn’t a big group of us. Instead, I sat and sulked. Pleasant company, huh?
I tell you that story not only to further confirm my spastic nature, but to convey that when I want cornbread, I generally want it bad. Since there isn’t a Smokey Bones within an hour of me, I’ve learned to make my own. It’s probably safer for their wait-staff this way.
Here’s what you need:
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup yellow cornmeal
2/3 cup sugar
1 teaspoon salt
3.5 teaspoons baking powder
1 egg
1 cup of milk
1/3 cup vegetable oil
2 Tablespoons butter, melted
Mix all of the ingredients together and pour the batter into a 9″ round cake pan. bake in a 400 degree oven for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the pan comes out clean. I generally serve this with a pad of butter and a healthy drizzle of honey (Parker likes his with apple butter). It is so incredibly good when it’s still warm out of the oven that I generally heat up individual pieces in the microwave before serving the leftovers. It makes my tummy happy.
Leave a Reply

