This Week’s Menu

Photobucket
This weekend, I spent a lot of time deep cleaning and organizing in preparation for our house guests, who are arriving on Wednesday (the Irishman’s parents and grandmother). It feels great heading into the week with a freshly scrubbed kitchen and all clean clothes. Of course, I’m not delusional to think that the house will still look like this when they get here. It’s pretty much a given that by Wednesday, the house will have gone to pot. Such is life at the zoo. Oh well, it’s the effort that counts, right?
Sticking with the “attempting to be on top of it” program, I’ve plotted out this week’s dinners. Since it’s cooled off substantially, I’ve focused on warm, feel-good meals to heat us up from the inside out. Plus, the Irishman has been eating the previous evenings leftovers for lunch the following day, so I’m all about making meals that have plenty of leftovers.
Menu:
Monday: Chicken Pot Pie (trying a new recipe)
Wednesday: Chili
Saturday: Chicken Noodle Soup (new recipe)
Sunday: Spaghetti Squash Pie (new recipe)
Hopefully, the new recipes I’m trying will turn out well so that I can pass them along to you. Chicken pot pie and chicken noodle soup were two of my favorite fall/winter foods when I was a meat-eater. I’ll make vegetarian versions for myself, but still with the standards for the boys and our carnivorous guests.
Here’s to hoping that everyone has a great start to their week!
Leave a Reply

