My New Favorite Foundation

Photobucket
During a whirlwind trip to a real city on Saturday, I made a stop at Sephora, one of my favorite stores. The closest thing to a makeup emporium in our tiny town is the local CVS, so I usually wait until I’m in a city with a population larger than 2500 to shop for new makeup. My summer colors are now too dark for my zero tanned skin and I ran out of the products that I had used last winter.
I love the fact that in Sephora, you can sample and try the products until you’re satisfied that you’ve found exactly what you’re looking for. Also, if you plan your Sephora stop at the beginning of your shopping excursion, you can see how long the makeup lasts before deciding whether to purchase it. Think of it as a makeup test drive. There is nothing worse than shoppers remorse when it comes to makeup. Okay, maybe there are a couple of things that are worse (world hunger, climate change, a surprise elimination from Dancing with the Stars), but it ranks pretty high up there.
Well, during my Sephora trip, I came across this makeup: Stila’s One Step Foundation. On their packaging, this product boasts of acting as a primer, concealer, foundation and powder all in one step. Also, it’s a mineral based formula and Paraban-free, so it’s not quite as bad for your skin as traditional foundations. I was definitely skeptical, but since I love so many other Stila products and since I was at Sephora and could try it without committing, I gave it a go.
And you know what? It’s a seriously good product. I mean, it’s definitely a bit pricey, but if you consider that you no longer need to buy concealer, foundation and loose powder separately, it doesn’t seem quite so expensive (or perhaps that’s just me justifying the purchase of a new product). If you have a couple of blemishes or blotchy spots, you can build the coverage to cover those up, or you can use less makeup to keep it sheer if you’re having a great skin day.
I am crazy splotchy in the winter, so I’m glad that I can at least fake an even skin tone when I’d rather not be mistaken for Rudolph. And thus far, it seems to be pretty long lasting (I’ve gone 8 hours with only adding a touch of blush around hour 6). I’m headed to San Francisco next week where I will be away from my room all day long for my conference so I’ll be sure to report back and let you know how it holds up after 12 hours, but thus far, I’m quite pleased with the results.
So, that’s the makeup skinny from the Daily Cynema. Please feel free to use this post to justify the addition of new makeup to your arsenal this fall. I don’t mind being a scapegoat and it will make me feel better if I have company in my addictions. I’m sure that’s diagnosable.
Leave a Reply

