Breakfast Casserole: A Christmas Morning Tradition

Since the first year that my husband and I spent as a married couple, I have been making this breakfast casserole on Christmas morning. I recall my mom spending hours in the kitchen on Christmas morning and I vowed to find an easier way to make a memorable meal without missing all of the excitement in the living room. This is a one dish casserole that takes about 40 minutes to bake and it is exceedingly delicious.

Here’s what you need:
1 package of sausage, cooked and crumbled
1 chopped green onion
2 cups shredded cheese (we use cheddar)
6 eggs, beaten
1 cup water
1 packet country gravy mix
1 package hashbrowns
First, put the sausage and onion in the bottom of your casserole dish. Next, spread the cheese over the top. In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs, water and country gravy mix and pour the combined mixture over the cheese. Finally, add the hashbrowns on top.
Generally, I brown the sausage on Christmas Eve so that the entire recipe comes together in minutes. Bake this hearty casserole at 325 degrees for 40 minutes, which is usually about how long it takes to open presents and clean up the wrapping paper that is strewn all over the floor.
I suppose I could make this at other times of the year, but there’s something special about a recipe that the Irishman is awaiting as eagerly as Parker awaits Santa’s visit.
Merry Christmas and Happy Eatings!
PS – I’ll add a picture tomorrow when it’s actually made.
Leave a Reply

