Fried Pickles

Photobucket
All I can say is Lord help me for knowing how to make these. My fried pickle eating days go back to my time at Florida State when I would frequent a restaurant there that made absolutely the best fried pickles. They came with a homemade honey mustard dipping sauce that was heavenly and I would often polish off the entire basket (with help of course) and leave there craving more.
Since we’ve moved away from Tallahassee, fried pickles have found their place onto my “I miss…” list. Naturally, I realized that I’ll just simply need to learn to make them myself. Luckily for me, one of my sorority sisters used to work at the restaurant and passed along the honey mustard recipe (yippee!) and I got a recipe for the batter from foodtv.com. The final verdict? Total success. Here’s how you make these little bites of fried heaven.
Homemade honey mustard:
2 parts mayo
1 part dijon mustard (recommended Zatarans creole mustard)
honey to taste (we added just under a tablespoon)
Egg wash:
1 cup milk
1 egg
dash of dill
dash of lemon pepper
pickle juice to taste (about 1 Tbs.)
Breading:
1/2 cup cornmeal
1/2 cup flour
1 Tbs. dill
1 Tbs. lemon pepper
1-2 tsp. paprika
1 tsp. garlic salt
First, buy a jar of refrigerated pickles. We used Claussen kosher dill. I think that the refrigerated pickles have a better crunch and a much better flavor. Go ahead and make your honey mustard so that the flavors have a chance to meld.
Next, make an assembly line of pickles, egg wash (ingredients whisked together) and breading (ingredients mixed well).
Photobucket
Grab a deep skillet and heat vegetable or canola oil on high. To find out if the oil is hot enough, I usually drop in a small piece of bread to see if it sizzles right away.
Once the oil is ready, dip the pickle into egg wash and then into the breading. Gently shake loose any excess breading and slowly drop the pickle into the oil. Cook your pickles in batches and fry until they are a nice golden brown.
Have a paper towel lined plate ready nearby to soak up the excess oil and serve immediately after their done. Then take a bite and mentally thank the good people of the South for coming up with the idea of frying everything in sight.
Leave a Reply

