Make Your Own Taco Seasoning

Keeping with my Mexican craving theme, we made quesadillas last night. As I was browning the ground beef for the boys, I realized that we were out of the packaged taco mix. Uh oh. Not willing to give up my Mexican fix for the night, I scrambled to find out how to make your own taco seasoning. I scanned a couple of recipes and came up with my own combination of spices based on what I had in my cabinets. This was the very tasty combo that I ended up with:

  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper

I mixed all of the ingredients together in a ramekin and added it to 1 lb. of beef. The Irishman said that the level of flavor was spot on. My next step is going to be making a large batch of this and storing it in a mason jar. With God as my witness, we will never buy packaged taco seasoning again! Now please, go forth and join us in our rebellion of the packaged stuff. Your tummy will thank you.

Leave a Reply

