A Visit to Civilization

My brother and his lovely girlfriend came to visit us this past weekend. It was a brave move to plan a January visit with the strange weather patterns we’ve been having, but thankfully, they brought the Florida sunshine with them. Parker was, of course, thrilled to have the company. He stayed home from school to hang out with Uncle Dean and Marissa and after I got back from classes, we gave Marissa a tour of our little town.

Parker begged, pleaded and finally cajoled me into buying him a new puzzle during our sojourn into town…and then he promptly put our guests to work on completing it. He’s such a good sharer.

Photobucket

We had dinner and turned in early because we had a big day planned for Saturday – a day trip to Atlanta. We headed out the next morning around 9:30am and arrived at noon. Thankfully, the iPad kept Parker busy during the drive down and we arrived without incident. We met up with some friends and our party of 8 (5 adults, 3 kids) headed out for lunch.

Photobucket

It was a ridiculously beautiful day so after lunch we headed over to Piedmont Park….along with the rest of Atlanta.

Photobucket

Did I mention how helpful it is to have other adults around to assist with Parker?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Let’s just say that being around other capable adults is enough to make me consider living close to family in Florida. Of course, having to drive in Atlanta squashed that idea mighty quickly. I have become thoroughly rural-ified and I don’t think I could ever live in a congested city again.

After the park, we headed back to our friend’s house and enjoyed some Persian tea and snacks.

Photobucket

Photobucket

In the evening, Parker and I bid adieu to everyone and embarked on the lonely (but welcome) drive to our little corner of the mountains. All in all, it was a nice weekend and while I could never live in Atlanta, I’m already planning my next visit to take advantage of the things I can buy there that I don’t have access to here in our little hamlet.

Leave a Reply

