Mmmmm…Smoothies!

Over the last couple of weeks, it seems like everywhere I look, I encounter images of yummy, fresh smoothies. Since I’m totally susceptible to the power of persuasion, I took that as a sign from above and started making smoothies daily and experimenting with the combination of fruits and vegetables that I added in. Since Parker won’t touch a vegetable if it’s sitting all by its lonesome on a plate, sneaking it in is the only way that I can get him to eat his leafy greens.

In the current most popular iteration of our daily smoothie, I’ve added a whole apple (skin on), 1 carrot, 1.5 cups of fresh spinach, 1 banana, 1/2 cup of pineapple, 1 banana, a handful of frozen strawberries and a handful of frozen triple berries (blackberries, blueberries and raspberries). I top this medley off with about 1 cup of orange juice and then I blend it for a good 60 seconds or until it’s completely smooth and there is no remaining “evidence” of any of the good stuff (i.e. veggies).

In our house, the goal is to make it a dark pink or purple, which Parker associates with berry smoothies. His thinking goes something like this: Berries are sweet. Candy is sweet. Berries must be candy. While I certainly don’t want to reinforce the “candy = everything that is yummy and right in the world” reasoning of my 4 year old, I do want him to continue slurping down things that are good for him.

I think that the way to broaden Parker’s smoothie horizons is to ask him to join me in some “science experiments” where we try to produce different colored results. While he’ll love the experimental nature of the project, I’m worried that he’s not going to want to eat the fruits of his labor if he sees exactly what goes into them. There are other parents out there that go through this, right? I’m telling ya, the food fights are going to be my final undoing, but at least for this one meal/snack a day, Parker and I can both agree that smoothies rock.

Leave a Reply

