Calling All Moms With 2+ Kids…Help!

Okay fellow mommies, I need your help. As we head into summer, I’m going to be winging it solo with two kids for the majority of June, July and August. It looks like Parker’s school will be offering summer camp for 8 weeks, but it will only run from 8am-noon. The Irishman is going to try and flex his schedule to only work 4 days a week, but I’ll still be flying solo until he gets home at 6pm or so.

First, let me start with a disclaimer. I am totally in awe of stay-at-home moms of multiple kids and of single moms in general. I have no idea how they do it. The truth is, I am completely petrified of the idea of taking care of two kids. I know that it’s probably an irrational fear and that most of the time, things will work themselves out, but I’m more than a little bit freaked out. Full disclosure: this probably has a lot to do with my aversion to playgrounds and other public places, which I’ll no doubt need to use to full effect to allow Parker to expend his energy and to retain some level of sanity. I’m planning on taking both kids to the park on nice days (pushing baby girl in the stroller while Parker rides his bike), but beyond that, I am at a total loss of how to manage things.

So, I need your help. Any tips that you can share, things that made the transition to 2 kids easier, things you wished you knew – I am ALL EARS. Please help me mommies. You’re my only hope!

2 thoughts on “Calling All Moms With 2+ Kids…Help!

  1. Lori @ My Kinda Rain March 2, 2011 / 8:46 am

    You just have to go with the flow and know that they WILL work out. There will be days you want to pull your hair out and/or cry…..but those days will not be around all the time, you will get into a groove that it will seem like second nature.
    Also, as bad as it sounds….let the tv or game system keep Parker busy for a bit while you feed the baby, nap on the couch for a bit or even go to the bathroom alone to have a breather. You can do it Cyndy, I have full faith in you and you will be a super mom of 2 kids! HUGS

  2. soccerjude March 5, 2011 / 3:09 pm

    What Lori said. Also, since the girl will still be young enough that she won’t be super-interactive (or mobile), you’re kind of at a slight advantage over ones where it’s a pre-schooler + toddler. Make sure you have a great carrier (Baby Bjorn, Snugli, etc.) since she’ll be too young for a backpack, and you should be able to get around a lot easier. Have Parker *help* you; I’m always amazed how much Cal is interested in helping out with Nick, even if it’s just “can you please bring me another diaper?” On rainy days, or days when being outside is just *ugh*, let Parker indulge his inner artiste – set up something for him to draw on or make a “kids trail mix” in the kitchen (something that can be done w/o having the heat of an oven but still counts as cooking in a kid’s book). Don’t underestimate trips to the mall; the bookstore is always great, esp. when you have one in a stroller who’s too young to be running in the opposite direction of the older kid.

    As Lori said, you’ll be FINE. You’ll be amazed at how fast you’ll adjust. I’m not saying it won’t be hard, but for someone who’s as used to running in every possible direction at once, as you are, this is a far easier adjustment than for others. And when the Irishman comes home, there WILL be days when you just say, “Here are YOUR children. I’m going ~anywhere but here~.” He just needs to understand that’ll happen…and be prepared to just pick it all right up where you’re leaving off. 🙂

Leave a Reply

