Gearing Up For A Race. Want To Join Me?

The last time I laced up my running shoes, I was 5 months pregnant. I think I made it a mile before I admitted that the discomfort definitely outweighed the gains. With great reluctance, I got home from that run and moved my running shoes to the back of the closet where they would remain for the next 5-6 months.

The decision to stop running was a hard one for me to make because I know how hard it is to start over. After all, I only began my running journey 3 years ago, so the agony of “building a base” and getting to the point where 5 miles was “easy” is still very fresh in my brain. I was hoping to keep my conditioning as long as possible, but alas, there came a point when I needed to just let it go.

Which brings me to right now. Although I still have one month left in this pregnancy and one month of recovery afterwards, I just picked my first post-baby race – a half-marathon that will take place on September 17th. Presuming that I will be back up and running (literally) by June 1st, that will give me 3.5 months (or about 16 weeks) to train. I’m already anticipating how difficult the first 4 weeks will be, but I also know that I’ve been through it before and come out on the other side. In other words, I’m confidant that I’ll be able to pull it off.

So, here comes the part where I invite you to join me. I don’t mean joining me in the race itself (unless you want to come to North Carolina), but I mean in starting, or continuing, a running journey. Have you wanted to train for a race – be it a 5K, 10K or half – but you just haven’t picked a training plan? Or have you been training okay, but have yet to pick a race to sign up for? I think that now is as good a time as any to make the decision to commit and in the words of Nike, let’s “Just Do It!”

Beginning on June 1st, I’m going to add a regular feature to the Dailycynema where I’ll share with you my weekly training plans and meal plans. I’ll also, naturally, be sharing the daily pain, struggle and success that goes along with building my running base again after a 1/2 year hiatus. So, take a bit of time to think it over, but come June 1st, let’s get started on reaching our goals together.

Remember – the golden rule here is “No excuses.” Where there’s a will, there’s a way and one way or another, we’ll get it done together. So get excited! Oh and get some Advil, we’ll probably need it.

Leave a Reply

