Mommy’s Super Powers

When I was a little girl, I remember thinking that being tucked into my mom’s side of the bed must be the safest place in the whole world. Even if she wasn’t still in the bed, there was something magical about it – as if she left her mommy super powers there for me to soak up when I was sick or scared.

Holding my babies.

I’ve been reminded of this frequently over the last couple of weeks as Parker battled through a horrible (and terrifying) case of croup and then again two nights ago as a rare (and very loud) thunderstorm shook the house. In both instances, Parker made a bee-line for my side of the bed and as soon as he was tucked in safely against me, he said, “I knew that you would make it better.”

Honestly, I think that this is the biggest gift of motherhood. The fact that my mere presence is associated with safety, love and calming energies is something that I never anticipated. I know that sometimes my husband struggles with this when he’s the first to arrive on the “scene” to comfort Parker, but gets snubbed as soon as my arms are available. It’s nothing personal, it’s just that in our house, daddy super powers are more in the realm of building blocks and playing games. There’s just something about cuddling with mommy that does the trick faster than any medicine or bandage.

As we’re getting ready to welcome this new little person home and I battle the slightly terrifying feelings of the unknown, I keep reminding myself that she and I are already well acquainted. I have, after all, been holding her closely for the last 38 weeks.

Leave a Reply

