Baby Watch 2011

Well, we’ve reached that time. With my due date only 3 days away,
we’re all (family and friends included) on the edge of our seats in anticipation of when this baby will make her grand entrance. I have to say, I always find this to be a very lonely time for a pregnant woman. Every phone call and text you send is met with an enthusiastic, “Darn, I thought you were in labor!” Every time you arrive at work, people are surprised to see you and are dismayed that you’re still pregnant. These responses are generally well-meaning, but they tend to have a pretty broad effect on my behavior.

At this point, I’ve started keeping my calls and texts to an absolute minimum and if I do need to call someone, I generally start the conversation with, “No, I’m not in labor…” I’ve also started using the back door at work to avoid the hallway of exclamations that is bound to greet me if I were to waddle down the main corridor instead. I think that my reaction is partly due to a shared disappointment that she isn’t here yet, but it’s also partly due to the fact that labor in and of itself is a lonely process. Sure, the Irishman will be there every step of the way, but he doesn’t have to feel a single contraction or decide whether to get an epidural or decide if/when I should consider an induction. At the end of the day, this is all on me.

I’m not saying this to be complain-ey (as I certainly knew exactly what I was signing up for), but I offer this as more of an explanation of how and why some pregnant women seem completely exasperated with the world around them during the last week or two of their term. Plus, there is definitely an element of, “Holy crap, this is really happening” that precedes imminent labor.

As it stands right now, I think that if I have to pick an induction date, it will probably be April 25th (10 days late) so that this little girl has been given ample time to make her arrival. But for the sake of my sanity, let’s just all hope and pray that she makes a move before then, shall we?

 

Leave a Reply

