Preferences

As Lexi starts to make her preferences known, it’s interesting to see the differences between her and Parker at the same age. While there are lots of little things (she likes the swing, he didn’t; she hates diaper changes, he didn’t mind), I think that the most striking difference is that she has a clear preference for being near me (AKA the milk machine) while Parker was fine being held by anyone. This is particularly the case at night when I’ve been trying to sneak away to get 2 or 3 hours of uninterrupted sleep while someone else watches her. Last night, I came out of the bedroom twice because I heard her frantically crying while my mom and the Irishman were trying to soothe her. The second I was near her, she was silent and content.

(Insert mommy panic here.)

On the one hand, Lexi’s preference for being near me makes a lot of things easier like the fact that she actually *sleeps* when we co-sleep and will spent countless hours quietly in my lap during the day. On the other hand, it makes taking a break a bit more difficult and while I don’t want to get ahead of myself, I’m concerned about potential separation anxiety, which we never experienced with Parker. Like everything else in these first new months, it could just (hopefully) be a phase, but I guess only time will tell. In the meantime, the Irishman is cherishing moments like the one above where she is happily sleeping on him and not reaching for her food supply, which I know probably hurts his feelings a little bit.  I’m sure that in no time at all, she’ll be reaching for him as eagerly as Parker does.

Leave a Reply

