Mother’s Day

One of my favorite things about Parker attending preschool is the arts and crafts that they do there. He is always bringing home the most creative projects and Mother’s Day was no exception. The picture to the left is Parker’s interpretation of me, which is surprisingly accurate. I think he captured my neurotic nature perfectly. When I asked him what was going on with my mouth, he said: “You are making your surprised face because I broke a glass in the sink.”

What’s funny is that Parker has only ever broken one glass in his life (about 3 months ago) and I probably made the exact freaked out face above because after the incident, he walked towards me carrying the broken glass in his hands, exposed sharp edges and all. Naturally, I freaked (thinking that he was going to accidentally slit his wrists at any moment) and apparently, it made an impression on him. Now, my freaky face is imortalized in this Mother’s Day card. If that isn’t love, I don’t know what is.

Photobucket

The second Mother’s Day project that they did in school was to have the kids answer the above questionnaire about their moms. I love that Parker thinks I’m 9-years-old. Personally, I think that I look quite “mature” for a 9-year-old, but I guess it could be worse – he could have said I was 60! The funniest thing on this questionnaire is that even Parker is aware that I am always cooking in the kitchen. It probably has something to do with the fact that we start dinner shortly after I pick him up from school, but still, he’s quite perceptive.

Finally, here is my homemade “abstract art” plate. I think this is a staple craft activity in preschools around the country as I remember making something similar for my mom when I was a wee tyke.

Photobucket

All in all, Parker was very proud of his creations and I felt quite loved with all of the attention.

P.S. Just to set the record straight, I never make hot dogs, but my mother-in-law had packed one in Parker’s lunch for that day so that was his source of inspiration for that particular answer.

Leave a Reply

