My New Favorite Salad: Mediterranean Bulgur Salad

Photobucket

First off, I cannot take credit for this salad. My mother created this recipe after I was commenting to her about my apprehension of cooking with healthy grains (bulgur, quinoa, cracked wheat). Truth be told, I was never really sure what to do with them, so I had avoided cooking with those ingredients even though I had been reading all about their nutritional value. So, my mom came to the rescue and now I’m hooked. And by hooked, I mean that I’m going to make a large batch of this salad every Sunday and eat it all week long. It really is that tasty (and filling). Please don’t be put off by the number of ingredients. The fresh herbs came from the herb garden and we happened to have a bunch of veggies on hand so we threw them in, but you can change the combination based on whatever is in your fridge.

For Bulgur:
2 cups water
1 cup uncooked bulgur

For Dressing:
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon vinegar
½ cup minced fresh parsley
¼ cup minced basil
1 tablespoon minced fresh oregano
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper

Other Ingredients:
1 can (15 ounces) garbanzo beans or chickpeas, rinsed and drained
1 cup halved cherry tomatoes
1 chopped green pepper
1 thinly sliced onion
1 package (4 ounces) crumbled feta cheese
2 stalks of celery thinly sliced
5 broccoli florets thinly sliced
1/2 cup almonds (or pine nuts)
15 pitted kalamata black olives chopped

Directions:
In a large saucepan, bring water and bulgur to a boil over high heat. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 20 minutes or until tender and water is almost absorbed. Remove from the heat; let stand at room temperature, uncovered, until water is absorbed. The bulgur can be made the night before and the salad assembled the next day.

In a small bowl, whisk the oil, lemon juice, vinegar, parsley, basil, oregano, salt and pepper.
In a large serving bowl, combine the bulgur, beans, and all other veggies, Drizzle with dressing; toss to coat. Sprinkle with cheese and almonds.

This is the kind of salad that gets better the next day, so leftovers are great. You’ll definitely want to give this one a try – it’s fabulous.

3 thoughts on “My New Favorite Salad: Mediterranean Bulgur Salad

  1. Kasey May 26, 2011 / 10:00 am

    I just made this last night and it was fantastic. Thanks to you and your mom for getting me to try cooking with bulgur.

    • dailycynema June 14, 2011 / 7:47 pm

      I’m so glad you like it! I’ve been making this every week.

  2. Anonymous November 20, 2013 / 5:40 pm

    Your Mom is rad!

Leave a Reply

