Time To Get Moving!

As I approach the 6 week post-birth mark, it’s time for me to start thinking about how I’m going to lose these last 18 lbs. (I gained 45 total). With Parker, I had gained 50 lbs. and then went on to lose 60 lbs. over the following 18 months, so I know that losing all 45 lbs. of the weight I gained is an achievable goal over the next year. The key is to not focus on the numbers, but to instead focus on making good choices one day at a time.

For me, exercise and a good diet go hand in hand. By that, I mean that if I’m not working out, then I’m probably eating pretty poorly as well. Yup, it’s time to drop my ice cream cone-a-day habit and reenter the world of healthy eating. Since I’m breastfeeding full time, I need to consume about 2000 calories a day. I just need to make sure that they are the right calories. Starting next week, I’m going to start posting my weekly menus every Monday. This will help me get organized, but it will also keep me accountable.

For the month of June, I’m going to stick to walking instead of running thanks to my, um, current milk overload (I highly doubt my sports bras would remotely fit at the moment. You’ve got to love the sacrifices we make for our children). The goal for June is to get in 3 miles or so 3-4 days a week while pushing Lexi in her stroller. In addition to walking, I’m going to do the following workouts at home:

Monday, Wednesdays and Fridays – Wii Fit Plus (with a workout that focuses on flexibility and strength)

Tuesday, Thursdays and Saturdays  –  Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred DVD followed by the Med Ball 400 workout

Sundays – REST

The final step in my workout plan will be to find a couple of races to register for in 2012. I don’t know about you, but when I have an end goal in mind, it’s easier for me to stick with a training plan. I always feel like I’m training with a purpose instead of just spinning my wheels.

So without further ado, it’s time to get busy and kick it into gear (albeit a low gear at the moment). So if any of you have any weight that you want to drop, feel free to join me. Misery loves company and I’m certainly going to be suffering as I bust my butt to get back into shape!

Leave a Reply

