This Week’s Menu

Okay folks, this is the first week that I’m going to be mapping out my weekly menu. I lost 1 lb. last week and that’s probably going to be par for the course since I’m nursing and keeping my calorie count pretty high. I didn’t get as much exercise last week as I had intended because I was so sore after the first couple of days. That was a rude awakening! From experience, I know that it takes about one month to get my muscles used to moving again, but during that month, it’s important to get adequate rest and to not overdue it. So, I’m slowly building up to working out 6 days a week, but 3-4 days is going to have to be enough for now.

With regard to my menu, I usually give myself 3 options for breakfast and 3 options for lunch (all nutritionally balanced) and I make what sounds good to me that day.  When I make my lunch option, I just double the amount that I make so that I can eat it on 2 separate days. The only thing that I am a stickler about is dinner simply because that requires some additional prep work.

Breakfast:
1. Cereal (3/4 cup Cheerios, 1/4 cup All Bran, 1/2 cup blueberries, soy milk)
2. Protein shake (10 oz. soy milk, 1 scoop protein powder, 1 banana, 2 Tbs. peanut butter)
3. Oatmeal (1/2 cup steel cut instant oatmeal, 2 Tbs. peanut butter, 1 sliced banana)

Lunch:
1. Egg salad sandwich
2. Tuna-artichoke sandwich
3. Mediterranean bulgur salad

Dinner:
1. Shrimp with linguini
2. Lentil Soup
3. 3-Bean Salad
4. Fish and (baked) chips
5. Shrimp/Chicken Piccata

Snacks:
– fresh veggies (carrots, green pepper, cucumber)
– nuts (handful of walnuts or almonds)
– fresh fruit

For the weekend, I’ll have leftovers one day and I always allow myself one “free day.” On this free day, I’ll have pizza or ice cream or french toast. In my experience, I almost never take advantage of the free day, but it’s a guilt-free way to indulge if I feel so inclined.

Leave a Reply

