Sriracha and Omelettes

I first came across Sriracha, a Thai hot chili sauce, about 10 years ago in my brother’s fridge. Brother Dean loves the stuff. Over the years, a bottle of Sriracha surfaced in my parents fridge (from one of Dean’s visits) and during a trip to visit us last year, he put in a special request for us to add a bottle to our arsenal of condiments as well. Pretty soon, I was seeing Sriracha everywhere – at our favorite Asheville noodle bar, as a recipe ingredient in like every Men’s Health magazine recipe, so I finally succumbed to the marketing pressure and I decided to try it. Specifically, I added it to my scrambled eggs (like Men’s Health told me to). Any you know what, it was delicious! Sure, it has a bit of a kick to it, but it also has a ton of flavor (when used in moderation). How have I had this condiment around me for more than a decade without knowing it’s value? I must warn you that Sriracha is a bit addictive. The first couple of times I tried it, I thought it was just okay. I kept adding it to things and it progressively just got tastier.

Now, I add Sriracha to most anything. My favorites uses for it are the following:

1. Omelettes – I’ve been eating 2-egg veggie omelettes like they’re going out of style lately. After sauteing the veggies (usually mushrooms, green peppers, onion and fresh tomatoes), I add 2 eggs that have been whisked together with a splash of milk, salt/pepper and a tablespoon or so of Sriracha. Pour the eggs over the sauteed veggies, turn the heat to low, top it off with a 1/3 cup of shredded cheese and let it cook through. Delicious!

2. Custom condiment – We’ve been eating burgers a lot lately (beef and turkey for the boys, veggie for me). At the beginning of the week, I mix together a bowl of mayo, mustard, ketchup and Sriracha. You can add the various ingredients to your taste, but our mix comes out somewhat pink in color. Then, we use this all week on burgers, sandwiches, as a dipping sauce for shrimp, pretzels and french fries. I know it sounds somewhat bizarre, but it’s seriously good.

3. On pizza – Yup, I just drizzle a bit of Sriracha sauce on my homemade cheese pizza and gobble it up. Nothing fancy, but plenty of flavor.

If you happen to see a bottle laying around your favorite Chinese, Thai or Japanese restaurant, go ahead and give it a try. It may surprise you! Oh and while this started off as a specialty item, it’s now available almost anywhere. Trust me, if I can find it at our local Walmart here in the boonies, you can too.

2 thoughts on “Sriracha and Omelettes

  1. renxkyoko June 29, 2011 / 11:59 am

    We’ve always have this since forever. I’m Asian, so we usually go to Asian markets for foodstuffs local groceries do not sell.Also, try the Asian style sweet sour chili sauce, the one w/ butterfly brand. I live in California where sian stores are huge and have everything in it.

  2. Jessica June 29, 2011 / 2:57 pm

    that’s so funny – I just had a wrap at lunch with sriracha mayo! yummmmm

Leave a Reply

