30 Day Challenges – I Need Your Input!

As I was perusing the morning news yesterday, I came across an article that was talking about Heidi Klum’s summer challenge. In this summer challenge, she pledged to run for 30 days straight and blog about her experience doing it. I thought that was kind of a cool process and it reminded me of the early days of the DailyCynema, which started by documenting my marathon training journey.

And then I had this thought: In the spirit of bettering ourselves, wouldn’t it be cool if I tackled a different challenge every month and encouraged my readers to do it along with me? Now, before you freak out, I wasn’t going to propose climbing mountains or running 15 miles a day. Instead, I thought it would be an interesting self-discovery journey to challenge ourselves to a variety of things. Here’s what I’ve come up with so far (and these would all have a 1-month parameter):

1. Exercise (of some sort) every day.
2. No eating out.
3. Meditating for at least 15 minutes.
4. Not spending money on anything but necessities (food, hygiene products, etc…).
5. Cleaning 1 room in the house every day.
6. Running or walking every day (the idea that started it all).

And that’s as far as I got. So tell me, what do you think? I’m I totally off my rocker? Would you be interested in “playing” along so that we could support each other on this experiment?

If so, help me think up 6 more things (or suggested more than that and we can replace some on my list). I started to add stuff like “pay someone a compliment,” but I’m not sure if we wanted to include things like that or keep it more exercise, organization and cooking oriented.

Please, please, please chime in and help me out! I’ll probably do this anyway (since I’m a regular on the crazy train), but I think it would be fun if I had you all to do it with me. You can do anything for 30 days, right?!?

Oh and if this is actually a good idea and you all are game, I was thinking of starting a separate Facebook page for the DailyCynema so that we could hop on there and post our progress and what not.

3 thoughts on “30 Day Challenges – I Need Your Input!

  1. vanessa July 9, 2011 / 10:38 am

    I would be all for it Cyndi! Even the compliments. I just need to get on a regular blogging schedule, lol. Count me in!! Maybe I can drag Mel into it as well : )

  2. Lois July 9, 2011 / 7:36 pm

    YES!! Sharing Recipes also. You have great ones.

  3. Olivia Hammon July 11, 2011 / 1:02 pm

    i might be in!! although living in the keys, i may request the walking/running every day be left for the late fall 😉 its hotter than heck down here, and with a 5 month old, i cant put him in his stroller and ‘go’ when its so humid you could swim through the air 😉 but i do like the ‘get excercise everyday”.. Sticking with the diet/health topic, what about “no alcohol for a month”~ “no sugar (except natural sugar i.e. fruits) for a month” ~ “no processed foods/only whole foods for a month” (that may be hard for a month)~ “do something purposeful every day that you enjoy/makes your soul happy”~ ” 10 sun salutations each day”

Leave a Reply

