Weekend Wrap-Up and This Week’s Menu

This past weekend was a total blur, but also lots of fun. The highlight of the weekend for Parker was a trip to the river with our friend, Kim, and her pup, Chile. She graciously entertained Parker while Lexi and I relaxed on a blanket nearby, which was a lifesaver since I still don’t have the hang of this whole “mother of two” thing. Here are some pictures of Parker splashing around with Kim and Chile.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And her our some pictures of our sweet Lexi. She’s wearing another “vintage” outfit that once belonged to my friend, Meg.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

And finally, here is the best picture by far of the whole day. The Irishman and I can’t stop laughing when we look at it. She looks like a little pirate!

Photobucket
Argh! The pirate’s life for meee…

On Sunday, I actually had my act together and managed to get our menu written with enough time to send the boys grocery shopping. Instead of just picking recipes at random, I thought I would do something a bit more educational (not to mention more organized). So, from here on out, we’re going to be planning our menus based on recipes from different countries. This month’s selection is as follows:

Monday – Mexican
Tuesday- Italian
Wednesday- Greek
Thursday- German
Friday- American
Saturday- Asian

I’m going to have Parker help me pick the recipes (which will hopefully encourage him to try them) and we’ll learn a bit about each country as we look for recipes. Parker thought it would be fun to share one fact about the country with his daddy before each dinner (since the Irishman usually doesn’t walk in the door until we’re sitting down to eat). If I’m feeling ambitious, we can also add some decorations to the dinner table that are representative of each country. Once we have exhausted Parker’s attention span for of this set of countries, we can pick another set to research.

So, without further ado, here is this week’s menu:

Monday- Beef or bean burritos with homemade pico de gallo and guacamole
Tuesday- Baked Ziti with garlic bread and Caesar salad
Wednesday- Souvlaki (and grilled Salmon kabobs for me), tzatziki and Greek salad
Thursday- Pork loin, sauerkraut and mashed potatoes
Friday- Homemade pizza (and popcorn for movie night)
Saturday- Curry shrimp and basmati rice and sauteed bok choy

Doesn’t that sound good? I’ll let you know if the country thing was a success or whether I just managed to create more work for myself (something that I excel at).

Leave a Reply

