Odds and Ends

Do you ever feel like something big is about to happen, but you don’t know what it is? It’s a sense of building anticipation and it almost feels like the jitters I used to get before a big race back in my swimming days. The night before the race, I would always feel a preternatural calm as if every cell in my being was conserving energy. And then, on the morning of the race, a slow burn would build in my body until the moment that I would burst off of the blocks with an explosion of energy that was the physical equivalent of screaming on the top of my lungs.

I’m not sure what’s coming, but I know it’s going to be good. I feel like a kid in the weeks before Christmas. Waiting. Anticipating. Savoring that feeling of good will. When I find out what “it” is, I’ll be sure to let you know, but at the moment, I’m scrambling to regain my focus for the week. Alas, I have no menu for you today. That’s partly due to my scatterbrained-ness and partly due to the fact that I’m driving into Asheville tomorrow to do my shopping at my favorite organic market. Once I get home, I’ll build my menu around the goodies that I find.

I’m also getting organized with the series of 30 Day Challenges that we’re going to do. I’m thinking we should start in August. Which is next Monday (!!). I keep waffling between whether I want to start with a food challenge or an exercise challenge, and I think that exercise is winning. To get our feet wet, I thought that we could start off with a general one like the “30 Days of Exercise” challenge. Then, we’ll move on to more structured/disciplined things. I’m loving this idea and it will feel good to take control and make changes towards well-being.

While I ponder these organizational issues for the next week, here are some sweet shots of Lexi, who decided to play coy for most of the impromptu photo shoot.

Photobucket

See what I mean? Still, look at her perfectly round little head.

Photobucket

I have to say that I’m really enjoying her current butterball state since Parker was (from the day on his birth) built like a string bean.

Photobucket

Oh look! She finally looked at the camera….

Photobucket

aaaand there’s my smile. I had to work for it (it’s a good thing that this camera doesn’t have audio), but any amount of me looking silly is worth it when I get one of those sweet, toothless smiles.

One thought on “Odds and Ends

  1. Lori @My Kinda Rain July 25, 2011 / 6:25 pm

    Exercise would be a good one! I will be walking my tail off at blogher! I am also running my first 5K while there and I have a yoga session planned with a famous yoga instructor! 🙂

Leave a Reply

