Zucchini Angel Hair Pancake

One thing that we’ve become much more attuned to since moving to a rural area is knowing which vegetables are in season. That’s attributed to two things: (1) our weekly trek to the farmer’s market, and (2) having friends with gardens. Even though we didn’t plant anything other than herbs this year, I have zucchini coming out of my ears thanks to our friends’ generosity. Since zucchini don’t keep longer than a week once picked, I got to work looking for a recipe that both boys would eat.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, Cooking Light recipes have never failed me and as luck would have it, their issues tend to coincide with what’s in season. So, I perused the latest issue, found exactly what I was looking for and got to work. Here’s what you need for this Zucchini Angel Hair Pancake or as I told Parker, “Medusa’s Hair on a Plate.” Hey, whatever works, right?

3 cups shredded zucchini (I grated mine)
8 oz. angel hair pasta, cooked (I used about 6 oz.)
1/3 cup flour
1/3 cup sour cream
1/3 cup Parmesan cheese
2 Tbs. diced onions (they called for shallots, but I didn’t have any)
1 Tbs. chopped fresh basil
1 tsp. chopped fresh oregano (I’m sure dried would be fine)
1/2 tsp. baking powder
2 eggs, beaten (I only used 1 egg)
1 garlic clove, minced
salt and pepper to taste
1 cup Marinara sauce

After you grate your zucchini, squeeze all the liquid out and dry it between paper towels to get rid of the excess moisture. Put the zucchini in a large bowl and add in the rest of the ingredients.

Get your marinara sauce simmering on the stove just to heat it up.

In a medium sized skillet, heat either 1 tablespoon of butter or olive oil. Add in 1/3 of the zucchini mixture to the skillet, making sure to spread it evenly across the pan. Cook over medium-high heat for 5 minutes. Carefully flip the pancake and cook for an additional 5 minutes.

Serve with a healthy serving of marinara sauce and enjoy! I made 2 pancakes last night for dinner and I have enough to make one last one for lunch today. I’ll let you know how the mixture did sitting for one day.

Leave a Reply

