This Week’s Menu

Prepping the filling for Summer Veggie Penne Bake

After dropping the ball entirely last week in the menu department (and scrambling to throw something together on a nightly basis), I decided to be on the top of my game heading into this week. I hit up the farmer’s market and got some gorgeous produce. Fresh kale (for our smoothies), tomatoes, green beans, corn, green peppers, eggplants plus I still have some squash and zucchini from our friends. This, my friends, is my favorite thing about summer. Our menu for this week is centered around all that glorious produce. Here’s what’s on tap this week:

Monday: Mexican bar (fajitas, burritos, or tacos)
Tuesday: Summer veggies penne bake (recipe will be posted this week)
Wednesday: Grilled chicken and veggies (zucchini, eggplants, onions)
Thursday: Fasolakia (Greek green beans and potatoes)
Friday: Build your own pizza

For lunch this week, I’m going with my go-to 3 things to keep it easy:

Tuna salad
Egg salad
3-bean salad

One thing I did differently this past week (which resulted in a 1.5 lb. weight loss!) was that I started adding smoothies to my morning routine instead of just after dinner. Every day this week, I made one large smoothie and drank half of it around 8am and the other half around noon. I had my coffee and a Greek yogurt with honey in between and bumped back my lunch time until 1:30 or 2pm. This way, I wasn’t starving heading into dinner so I ate a smaller portion. Oh and I increased the size of my dinner salad as well. The smoothies I’ve been making for breakfast are generally as follows:

Parker sucking down The Hulk

1 large handful spinach
1 kale leaf
1 handful of frozen strawberries
1 handful of frozen blueberries
1 banana
1 Tbs. flax seed
12 oz. soy milk (or almond milk)

Trust me, as long as your smoothie is thoroughly blended (I let mine go for about 60 seconds), you won’t even taste the spinach or kale. It tastes good, it’s filling and it really works towards balancing the Ph in your system (I’ll talk more about this later in the month).

Our “dessert” smoothie, aptly named The Hulk, has been spinach, kale, mangoes, pineapple, banana, a whole orange and enough OJ to blend it smoothly.

Now for the best news – everything is already prepped for pretty much the entire week! The summer veggies penne bake is already assembled in a casserole dish and just waiting to be popped in the oven. The green peppers, onions and flank steak are already sliced into strips for the fajitas and the taco meat is already made. As a bonus, I froze half of the taco meat so that I’ll have it ready to go for another week since beef burritos are one of Parker’s favorite foods. The green beans are cleaned and prepped and for grilled chicken and veggies night, everything is washed and ready to slap on the grill.

I can’t tell you how great it feels heading into the week with everything ready to go. This prep will allow me to make sure that I have time to get in my workouts! I’m going to optimistically set my weight loss goal for the 30 day challenge to 5 lbs. I’m not sure if I can make it, but I’m definitely going to give it my best shot.

Leave a Reply

