***Let The Challenge Begin***

For the August banner at the top of the page, I decided to go with inspirational pictures this month to remind me daily how great it feels to accomplish my goals. The picture on the left is after the completion of the Disney Princess Half Marathon. Not only was it my personal best time for a race, but I felt great throughout and my friend, Kasey, and I had a blast running the race. The middle picture is of my big brother and I at the completion of the Disney Full Marathon. It was 26.2 miles of highs and lows, but to this day, it remains one of my proudest moments. The last picture is of my first long ride here in North Carolina. It was 20+ miles of mountainous terrain and even though I thought my legs might fall off, I didn’t give up.

So for this first challenge, the goal is simple: Don’t give up. Don’t quit. Don’t doubt yourself even on your worst day. Regardless of sleep, weather or schedules, commit to finishing out the entire 30 days. You owe it to yourself. When people tell you they don’t have time to exercise, what they really mean is that they have made a choice to not make exercise a priority. We can all find 25 minutes a day to put ourselves (and our health) first. I promise, you will feel amazing at the end of the month because there is nothing on this earth quite as personally satisfying as accomplishing what you set out to do.

And just to make this a bit more fun for everyone who keeps me company by hanging in there, I’m going to give away some prizes at the end of the month. I haven’t decided exactly what they are yet, but I’m thinking that they might include some of my favorite fitness products (DVDs, maybe some resistance bands or other at home workout stuff). Yay for prizes!!

To help you out with finding creative ways to work out (in case you can’t make it to the gym/track/etc…), here are some links to give you some ideas:

Also, if you don’t have dumbbells, just use full water bottles. In swimming practice, we used to tread water while holding gallon jugs of water above our heads. If it’s heavy, it works!

I’ll be posting more workout ideas throughout the month, but remember, it doesn’t have to be complicated to be effective. Make sure you check into the Daily Cynema Facebook page often to chime in with how you’re doing and to find support and tips. Good luck and let the games begin!

Leave a Reply

