My Favorite Song

Hi folks! Since I’m encouraging everyone to join our fun 30 Day Challenges here at the Daily Cynema, I thought that I would be a sport and join in on other virtual initiatives going on in the blogosphere. Toni over at A Daily Dose of Toni and a number of other bloggers are answering 30 questions in 30 days and all linking up to their blogs. It should be interesting to see how everyone’s responses vary since we’re from all over the country with different hobbies, families and jobs. Without further ado, here is the first question in the series:

What is your favorite song? Β 

What a deceptively simple question. How does one go about picking a single favorite song? I mean, life has a soundtrack all it’s own. Certain songs can bring me back to exactly where I was at a certain phase of my life. There are songs that remind me of summer days floating in the pool with not a care in the world…

…and there are songs that represent the angst I felt trying to navigate the trials associated with growing up.

Then there’s the song I decided to have played at my fictitious funeral during my Death and Dying college class because it made me smile every time I heard it (still does)…

There’s the song that will always remind me of sitting on the balcony of our house in Greece with my dad (a huge Johnny Cash fan).

But I guess if I was really forced to narrow it down, there would be a tie for my all-time favorite song. When either of these two songs play, I literally stop what I’m doing and listen. I could listen to them on repeat indefinitely and not get bored. Pearl Jam’s Black and Guster’s Window.

So tell me, what’s your favorite song?

14 thoughts on “My Favorite Song

  1. Toni @ A Daily Dose August 2, 2011 / 8:40 am

    LOL as you can tell I could not pick just one. I was proud to be able to narrow it down as small as I did. I seriously could have thousands of songs but that would be much too long of a post :). I love Garth Brooks too, well some of his songs and Pearl Jam how could I have left them off. Great list πŸ™‚

    • dailycynema August 2, 2011 / 8:59 am

      I totally agree Toni! Even trying to narrow it down was excruciating.

  2. Lori @My Kinda Rain August 2, 2011 / 10:25 am

    Love U2 and Johnny Cash!

    Pearl Jam is great too! So glad to see you participating

  3. Kerry Davies August 2, 2011 / 11:01 am

    Aaah – U2 melts my heart, great song choices!! Stopping by via 30 days about Me πŸ™‚ Kerry xx

    • dailycynema August 2, 2011 / 12:28 pm

      Mine too Kerry. I have just about every U2 concert DVD out there!

  4. Carissa August 2, 2011 / 11:32 am

    I had never heard of Guster and so I had to hit play! My daughter thought it was great as she was convinced the Pink Bear was singing πŸ™‚ I loved how it just flowed!

    Stopping by from 30 Days of Me πŸ™‚

    • dailycynema August 2, 2011 / 12:27 pm

      That would be beyond awesome if the pink bear was singing. Love it!

  5. Becca August 2, 2011 / 4:18 pm

    Wow, I love how many favorites you have. We must have very different tastes as I haven’t heard of most of your songs. If I wasn’t at work right now (without computer speakers) I would be checking them all out!

  6. Judy August 2, 2011 / 5:26 pm

    Hi! Great list of songs! I love “Ring of Fire!” With everyone of these lists i read, I think of more things to add to my list! Good to see you doing this 30 Day challenge!

  7. Jessica August 2, 2011 / 6:51 pm

    Love love love your picks! Garth Brooks is amazing and Callin’ Baton Rouge is one of my favorites!

  8. Lisa Allen August 2, 2011 / 11:24 pm

    I can’t pick just one either πŸ™‚ Love that you included the Indigo Girls; I haven’t listened to them lately but have always loved them. Stopping by from 30 days.

    • dailycynema August 3, 2011 / 8:35 am

      The Indigo Girls were my go-to road trip band in college. They’re so soulful!

  9. Kimberly August 4, 2011 / 10:16 pm

    I love your picks. I could have put most of them on my list as well. Looking forward to getting to know you this month and hope you’ll come by and get to know me as well.

  10. festivals4fun October 21, 2014 / 8:03 pm

    Great picks! Two other great ones by U2, “New Years Day”, and “Sunday Bloody Sunday”.. And Airport song by Guster is worth checking out too..

Leave a Reply

