My Favorite Movie(s)

Oh dear, here we go again. Today’s question covers 30+ years of movie watching experience. I don’t usually have difficulty making decisions, but when I was a preteen, nothing could hold a candle to The Neverending Story or The Princess Bride. I had a ridiculous crush on Atreyu, I wanted Falkor to be my pet and to this day, I can probably recite “The Princess Bride” line by line.

“My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.”

Touching, no? And then you have the movies that top my own personal “Feel Good” category like Father of the Bride and The Wedding Singer. Steve Martin was hilarious in Father of the Bride and my list of favorite quotes from The Wedding Singer is another post unto itself.

With that said, there is (yet another) tie for my favorite movie. First up to bat is the movie 300. I love this movie on so many levels. First off, it’s about Greece (my beloved homeland). Last summer, we visited Theromyles (you can read that post here) and I had goosebumps just thinking about the heroic stand those warriors took against the Persian armies. It truly is the stuff of legends. The movie is more a fantasy epic than a biopic, which I’m totally okay with, and it doesn’t hurt that you have hundreds of seriously built men dressed only in loin clothes. Oh and other than the loin cloth clad bodybuilders, another thing I love about 300 is that it has some great one liners (can you tell I’m a sucker for movie lines?).

“THIS IS SPARTA!”

My other favorite movie is The Departed. I love the story, I love the acting, I love how the entire film is told in shades of gray. Much like the real world, there is both good and bad in each of us. This movie sucks me in every time and I revel in the righteous indignation  of the ending. I should add that it’s one of the very few crime movies that I can tolerate and even with the violence and language that punctuates the entire movie, I still show it to my classes whenever I can squeeze it into a semester.

So, there’s my crazy and disjointed favorite movie list. I’d love to hear what’s on yours!

11 thoughts on “My Favorite Movie(s)

  1. Donna August 3, 2011 / 9:40 am

    You have some great movies here. Princess Bride = AWEsome! And I loved The Departed, too. 🙂

  2. keontesmith August 3, 2011 / 9:51 am

    The Princess Bride comes on like every week and my boyfriend watches it each time. I guess that happens with classics.

  3. Heather @ fullpricenever August 3, 2011 / 10:13 am

    Gosh I forgot the Princess Bride and the Never Ending Story… I loved those 2. I am now singing the Never ending story, oooohhh oohhh ohhh ohhh ohhhh!

  4. Mikki August 3, 2011 / 10:28 am

    Hey there. Stopping by via the 30 days..

    I love the Princess Bride. My daughters just about know it word for word.. LOL.

  5. Chili Pepper August 3, 2011 / 2:37 pm

    Princess Bride is a hit around here. So many great lines. I didn’t like that one very much until I watched it with my kids. They helped me to really appreciate it!

  6. Becca August 3, 2011 / 11:21 pm

    I love the Princess Bride. It is so timeless! 🙂

  7. Carissa August 4, 2011 / 2:19 am

    Love The Princess Bride! Great list!

  8. Toni Patton August 4, 2011 / 12:09 pm

    I remember sitting there watching “A Never-ending Story” and having to have an apple to eat and making sure my food lasted the whole movie, we have to save it for the journey LOL. Great choices.

  9. Kimberly August 4, 2011 / 10:35 pm

    I haven’t seen most of these. I guess I need to load up my netflix que. 🙂

Leave a Reply

