Favorite Television Show

Okay, I finally can post a single definitive answer to the “30 Days of Me” questions. Without a doubt, my absolute favorite television show is….

That’s right. It’s THE GOLDEN GIRLS!! Before you judge me and my love of all things senior citizen, let me explain why I love this 80s sitcom.

1. The dialogue is beyond hysterical. When I used to watch reruns of The Golden Girls (you know, before I bought all of the DVDs), my husband, who would role his eyes every time I turned it on, could be heard chuckling from the next room. The writing for this show was brilliant.

2. The characters are iconic. Between Sophia throwing insults and Blanche dropping her pants for every male over the age of 25, this show changed the way that people viewed the over 50 crowd. And okay, I’m probably not the viewing audience they were going for (based on the adult diaper and denture commercials), but it made me see my parents as real people in and of themselves and not just humans who existed to cater to my needs. Did I mention that I’ve been watching this since middle school?? Which leads me to reason #3.

3. I started watching this show with my mom. We would sit together and laugh over Dorothy’s dry humor and Rose’s naivety and for those 30 minutes, we were just two gals watching a TV show instead of a preteen picking fights with her mother. Seriously, watching this show is like getting a giant, warm hug and while I fully realize that it sounds corny as hell, it’s absolutely true. If you doubt my overwhelming and abiding love for all things Golden Girls, just ask the Irishman. He can confirm that I brought 5 seasons worth of episodes with me to the hospital when I gave birth to Parker and had them looping in the DVD player for our entire stay.

Now sing it with me everyone!

10 thoughts on “Favorite Television Show

  1. Chloe August 4, 2011 / 9:40 am

    I love that show, too! It is too funny!

  2. Lizzie August 4, 2011 / 10:11 am

    i haven’t seen this show in years! love it πŸ™‚

  3. Donna August 4, 2011 / 12:13 pm

    Another great one I forgot! I love Betty White!!!!

  4. Kerry Davies August 4, 2011 / 12:16 pm

    Oh. My. Word. I LOVE the Golden Girls!!!! Great Choice x

  5. Heather @ fullpricenever August 4, 2011 / 1:42 pm

    I picked it too! It’s just a super feel good show. I ALWAYS feel the warm fuzzies at the end {not scared poop-less like after Criminal Minds}… Great choice!!!

  6. Becca August 4, 2011 / 2:12 pm

    I used to watch Golden Girls with my mom as well πŸ™‚

  7. evie August 4, 2011 / 7:51 pm

    my favorite too, watching reruns whenever thinking of buying the tapes!

  8. Martha August 4, 2011 / 8:33 pm

    Love that show too. It never gets old!
    Thanks for stopping by!

  9. Carissa August 4, 2011 / 11:01 pm

    One of my favorites as well! I swear my grandma and Rose were cut from the same cloth!

  10. Toni Patton August 9, 2011 / 9:57 am

    Oh my, how could I forget the golden girls. I loved them all. Betty White still makes me giggle when I see her on movies/t.v

Leave a Reply

