Just. Do. It.

Today’s question from the 30 Days About Me series was, “What is your favorite quote?” For long time readers of this little blog, this quote will come as no surprise.

This is going to sound harsh, but I find that many people live their lives in a bubble of excuses. They find excuses for why they can’t work out, eat healthy, go back to school, spend enough time with their kids,… I could go on and on. To those people who justify and rationalize away their responsibility for living their best life, I say this:

1. Evaluate what is truly important to you.

2. Prioritize your activities to reflect that.

3. Finally, just do it. Stop talking about it, stop planning for it, stop wringing your hands and fretting over it. Just do it right now. Is it going to be easy? Nope. Is it going to happen overnight? Probably not. Is someone going to take you by the hand and show you the way? Unfortunately, no. But in my experience, the key to success in any endeavor is threefold:

(1) Have the guts to get started; (2) have the persistence to keep going when things get tough; (3) have a belief in yourself that you can and will accomplish what you set out to do.

I cannot tell you the number of times that I have wanted to throw in the towel. Between working towards and finishing my Ph.D., going from not running at all to running a marathon and celebrating 10 years of togetherness with my husband, my accomplishments have been an exercise in perseverance. Am I proud of what I’ve accomplished? You bet and that’s because I had to work at it every step of the way. Each finishers medal, each diploma and each anniversary has been earned by blood, sweat, tears and sheer will power.

There have been times when I have been beaten down, overwhelmed and in more physical pain than I can imagine, but you know what? Quitting was never an option. That may sound crazy, but if you want to succeed, sometimes you have to get a little crazy to do it. It was a lesson I learned from a young age with some very dedicated swim coaches who would not allow me to quit. You push through the fear of failure (and the fear of success), you push through the cramps and you push through the fatigue. Somewhere on the other side, you’ll emerge a champion. You may not win the race, but you’ll have won the battle against yourself and that is worth its weight in Olympic gold.

Competitive swimming was not for the faint of heart, but you know what? Neither is life. So, what are you waiting for? Get out there and….JUST DO IT!

7 thoughts on “Just. Do. It.

  1. Martha August 6, 2011 / 7:50 am

    What a wonderful post! Congratulations on your accomplishments.

    There are mornings when I really want to sleep in, but then I miss my morning time. When my daughter was younger, she never slept in and I was (am) a single mom, so the early morning or late night hours were the only ones that were just for me.

  2. Kerry Davies (@thelovebump) August 6, 2011 / 8:06 am

    Wow, this is a brilliant post!! I am such a procrastinator, and although I HATE quitting, I have trouble finishing anything… Thanks for the words of encouragement!! Kerry via 30 days x

  3. Martha(Mom on Caffeine) August 6, 2011 / 9:09 am

    What an inspiring post! I love that quote too, but I sometimes let “stuff” get in the way of my “it’!
    I’m working on it, it is a process.
    When my daughter was younger she was an early riser, so my only time to have really quiet time was early early in the morning or late at night. I love the early morning time the best!

  4. Heather @ fullpricenever August 6, 2011 / 11:27 am

    So true! It really does start with “Just Do It”. You can talk about it, but doing it is the most imp. part! {stopping by from 30 days}

  5. Donna August 6, 2011 / 5:02 pm

    Three words couldn’t express more. 🙂

    Stopping by via 30 Days…

  6. Becca August 7, 2011 / 3:04 am

    I wish I could pass this along to my mom. Her first instinct is to say no to everything and it drives me crazy. I totally agree with you….Just do it!

Leave a Reply

