A Photo That Makes Me Happy

Gosh, I have so many photos that make me happy (an entire lifetime’s worth!) but if I had to pick one picture that makes my heart light up, it would have to be this one:

Our daughter, Lexi, was born three months ago and this was the first time that Parker met her (about 12 hours after her birth). It was a whirlwind labor. We left for the hospital at midnight (without saying goodbye to Parker) and Lexi was born less than 2 hours later. The next morning, Parker went to school like he normally would and then he came by the hospital to meet his brand new baby sister. He came into the room so quietly (which is not his normal state of being) and he whispered to me, “Can I touch her?” This picture was snapped a split second before he touched her for the first time. He looked up at me in wonder, grinned and promptly climbed into the hospital bed with us.

These two lovely beings are my whole heart. I feel so privileged to be their mother and I thank the Lord above that I get to call them mine. Parenting has been such a crazy ride, but it’s one that I wouldn’t have missed for the world.

6 thoughts on “A Photo That Makes Me Happy

  1. Jessica August 8, 2011 / 9:46 am

    Awww! I love it! This will be a great picture to look back on as they get older.

  2. Rosa from My Very Own Mommy Blog August 8, 2011 / 5:16 pm

    This is a fantastic picture! My 3 year old was terrified when he met his baby brother. It took him 3 days to get used to the idea. 🙂

  3. Alicia August 8, 2011 / 6:01 pm

    So sweet! I loved the first meeting between my 2 girls.

  4. Martha(Mom on Caffeine) August 8, 2011 / 10:39 pm

    Beautiful moment! Thank you for sharing and thankgs again for stopping by!
    I’m running late today visiting. I spent some quality time watching NY Ink with my 14 yo. At this age, I will do anything for us to spend quality, non argumentative time with her!

  5. Becca August 8, 2011 / 10:48 pm

    That picture is beyond adorable! 🙂

Leave a Reply

