Favorite Band/Artist

Today’s question about my favorite band or artist is going to come as no surprise since they sang my favorite songs (posted for day 1). Since there is room in my heart (and iPod)for 2 favorite bands, the honors have to go to U2 and Pearl Jam.

U2 has been a favorite of mine since elementary school and I think I have every single CD they’ve put out since. I have so much respect for their activism and I love how they can reinvent themselves continuously while staying true to their sound. I finally got the chance to see them live in concert 2 years ago and it was almost a religious experience.

And then we have Pearl Jam…

Pearl Jam’s “Ten” was the first CD that I learned every word to beginning to end. It penetrated my little teenaged soul and to this day, it remains one of my favorite CDs of all time. A good buddy of mine who knows my personal affinity for all things Pearl Jam sent me this trailer last week with the subject line, “Try to contain yourself.” Ha! Fat chance.

It is safe to say that I am beyond giddy with anticipation to see the above documentary. It will be like a grunge reunion in that movie theater, I’m sure. Long live 90s bands!!

5 thoughts on “Favorite Band/Artist

  1. Alicia August 12, 2011 / 1:27 pm

    Never get tired of Pearl Jam- I remember having a CD of theirs.

  2. robertforto August 12, 2011 / 1:39 pm

    Pearl Jam and their LP–Ten changed the music scene and our culture forever. Many people associate flannel with grunge. These guys will tell you they just wore it because they came from blue collar working class homes and thats what they wore. Now everyone wears it on their “grungy” days.

    Great choices–both bands!

  3. Becca Okaneko August 13, 2011 / 6:40 pm

    Oooooh I really love Pearl Jam. Their songs are fantastic 🙂

  4. Martha(Mom on Caffeine) August 13, 2011 / 8:53 pm

    Great choices. The 90s was the one decade I was least intuned to the music scene. I was working long and hard days in my career, then I got married, had my daughter, got divorced, and soon it was 2000! I do love the music of both bands!

Leave a Reply

