Something I am OCD About

Hahahaha! How much time do you all have? The word “neuroses” isn’t in my tagline needlessly. As much as I have tried, wished and prayed to be the kind of Type B, go with the flow person that I have always admired, I’m just not. And frankly, it’s outside of the realm of possibility.

I like schedules, I like order, I like control, I like predictability. I’m pretty sure that these are all characteristics of OCD. The only difference between me and someone who is diagnosed with clinical OCD is that it is not maladaptive to my life, meaning that I don’t freak out about it (at least not much). I just fix it. I am the drill¬†sergeant and the rest of the brood are the troops. Trust me, it’s better this way.

So, back to the initial question. I would have to say that the one thing that I am most OCD about is my kitchen (and yes, I said my and not our). These are the kitchen rules:

    • There will be no dishes left in the kitchen sink for any period of time – either wash it right away, or put it in the dishwasher. Even our 4-year-old knows to either put it in the dishwasher or hand it to an adult.
    • The only small appliances left on the kitchen counter are those we use every day (toaster oven, blender, coffee maker, Kitchen Aid stand mixer), all others go back to their designated place.
    • If you cook something in the kitchen, please return the kitchen to it’s original condition (i.e. there should be no “evidence” of your cooking once you’re done).
    • Under no circumstances are you to use the kitchen counter top as a repository of mail, keys or other non-kitchen items (there’s a table for that).

I realize that this sounds kind of crazy harsh, but I’ve made so many OCD concessions in the rest of the house (bedrooms, living room to say nothing of Parker’s bathroom), that this is the one little corner of the house that I am staking my claim. It is almost comical when my mother comes to visit because I literally stalk her around the kitchen. I love her dearly, but she is a very messy cook and I deal with this in 2 ways: (1) grab a bottle of wine and sit on the deck until she’s done; (2) follow after her and wash each dish that she makes, pestering her relentlessly. For the record, she does not approve of either coping method.

Now, with that said, please don’t be uncomfortable to make yourselves at home when you come visit us! This applies more to my daily life than for our lovely guests and my mom is the only one who tries to pry the spatula from my hand when we have company anyways, so I promise, you’re totally welcome to help yourselves to a glass of water/beer/juice and by all means, leave it in the sink.

Leave a Reply

