My Dream Home

Today is day 15 in the 3o days about me series and I was anxiously awaiting today’s question because I know exactly what my dream home would be. I am so in love with the following ideas that I am perfectly content to keep renting in the North Carolina mountains until I can have something similar to my “dream house.” We still own our home in Florida and while it’s been happily rented since we moved up here, I’m still in no hurry to have two mortgages. Obviously, these are all multi-million dollar homes (and thus waaaaay out of our budget), but they have all of the elements of what I love in a home: modern, minimal and open. So, without further ado, let me show you what would make our dream house.

1. Natural light.

I am obsessed with natural light. I want it pouring in from every wall of every room. In my dream home, the entire back of the house (if not the whole house) would be huge panes of glass, uninterrupted from room to room. Since we live in the mountains, my dream home would have a huge deck with an incredible view (unlike the backyard in the picture above).

2. A view of the sunrise

I am a morning person through and through and if I could choose my view, it would be of the sunrise coming up over the mountains. I dream of taking my coffee out on the deck on crisp fall mornings and watching the dawning of a new day.

3. A spacious kitchen.

In case you missed my OCD post, I’m a kitchen freak. I need lots of space for storage and I want that space to feel open to the whole house. I also love just hanging out in the kitchen, so seating around the island is a must too. While I love the layout and size of the above kitchen, it feels a bit too “blah” to me. When I went looking for inspirational images, this one definitely caught my eye.

I love the colors, I love the zen feel of it and I love the instant feeling of warmth the above style and color pallet bring me. It’s my version of perfection.

4. In-home gym and yoga studio.

If you put a view of the mountains instead of a city, this would be perfect. I know that it sounds kind of nuts to want a gym in my home, but I’m a homebody and I would love having an open and airy room to practice yoga and use my treadmill. I would also want to add in a punching bag, a spinner bike and some free weights and benches. Heaven!

5. Spacious bathroom.

Since I spend so much of my time hiding in the bathroom trying to find some shred of alone time (those of you with small children know exactly what I mean), I thought I could greatly benefit from a bathroom that is much more spacious and inviting than the 1970s inspired bathroom in our current home. If I had the above bathroom in my house, I might just host dinner parties in there.

Beyond those 5 things, fireplaces in the living room and master bedroom would be nice also (it gets cold here in the winter). As far as size goes, I would probably want something about 2500-3000 sq. feet (definitely no bigger than that) and I would want the living spaces (kitchen, dining room, living room) to be all in one great room.

Wow, this was a really fun exercise and I’m totally energized about working towards owning our own little mountain retreat at some point in the future. I may be 60 before it happens, but I hope we get there! Wait, did I say “we?” I guess I should show this post to the Irishman so that he knows exactly what we’re saving for. I think I may have overlooked sharing the finer aspects of my dream home with him. Whoops! 

7 thoughts on “My Dream Home

  1. Donna August 16, 2011 / 11:04 am

    I love lots of natural lighting, as well. And love the pic of the kitchen… so big, clean, and bright. 🙂

  2. Kerry Davies (@thelovebump) August 16, 2011 / 11:36 am

    Wowza!! You’ll need to be a billionaire to get someone to clean all that glass 🙂 But I totally agree on the natural lighting. (oh my gosh im so boring, my first reaction was… who is going to clean that glass..) Love the sunrise aspect, I didnt even think of that 🙂

    Kerry via 30 Days x

  3. Liv August 16, 2011 / 11:57 am

    with you on each dream home ‘must have’ except i prefer a sunset view to sunrise 🙂

  4. lisajp August 16, 2011 / 7:23 pm

    clean lines and a great view…fantastic!

  5. akismet-6dbc080917c6a4f890a48bc73275a46c August 16, 2011 / 7:58 pm

    I didn’t think about that at all! The house is beautiful. I am more into natural lighting and yes- a yoga studio for sure.

    Beautiful!

  6. robertforto August 16, 2011 / 8:55 pm

    Love the mountain view. At our cabin here in Alaska we have large picture windows in the living room that have a great view of Mt. McKinley (Denali). Thanks for sharing.

  7. Becca Okaneko August 17, 2011 / 8:24 pm

    Wow look at that bathroom…so fantastic! I love the idea of an in-home gym also!

Leave a Reply

