The Craziest Thing I Have Ever Done

Hmmm, this question was kind of a hard one because I’m not really a crazy risk-taker. Almost all of the decisions I make are carefully weighed for potential benefit against possible risk (and yes, I still write out pro/con lists like my mother taught me to do when having difficulty making a decision). My lack of risk taking probably has more to do with my control freak nature than anything. With that said, here are some crazy things I’ve done.

(1) I bought a motorcycle on my 30th birthday. Let’s just go ahead and chalk this one up to “early mid-life crisis.” I had an almost 2 year old, I had just finished my Ph.D. and I felt like I was one wrong move away from being a minivan driver (no offense intended to those who drive one – it’s just an irrational fear I have). So, I took a motorcycle safety class (safety first!), got my motorcycle license and bought a Kawasaki Vulcan 500. Once I got pregnant with Lexi, I realized that it probably wasn’t the best investment to make and I sold it to an interested party. I don’t think my mother has ever been more relieved in her life! With that said, I’ll probably buy a smaller street bike in a handful of years that’s more appropriate to the mountains (the Vulcan was a cruiser and great for Florida, but a bit too heavy for up here).

(2) I agreed to sign up for the Disney Marathon with my brother. That’s a picture of my brother and me after finishing the race in my banner up top. Prior to training for the marathon (my first running race), I had been able to run a mere 1.8 miles before dying taking a walking break. It was definitely a crazy thing to do, but it was so satisfying to finish that race. Probably as satisfying as finishing my degree, but slightly less satisfying than giving birth. A baby is, after all, a much more substantial reward after all that work than my Mickey Mouse medal. Maybe if Disney was giving out babies, more people would run marathons?

(3) Speaking of kids, I think that the moment when I decided that we were ready to give parenthood a go felt like one of the most reckless things I had ever done. Talk about giving up control! I mean, I had zero experience with children and not a clue what I was getting myself into. I don’t think that anyone really knows how completely and beautifully children change your life until you experience it. Can it be an exasperating experience? Yes. Daily! However, having those little people light up at a glimpse of your face and hearing them say, “I love you” is just about as good as it gets on this earth. Yup, having kids was definitely one of the craziest things I’ve done, but man, was it worth it!

6 thoughts on “The Craziest Thing I Have Ever Done

  1. Kerry Davies (@thelovebump) August 17, 2011 / 3:08 pm

    Oh my gosh I love that motorbike!! I would have put you as a risk-taker from your banner πŸ™‚ I think me having kids was crazy too, poor little sprogs πŸ™‚ Kerry x

  2. joyewilliams August 17, 2011 / 7:41 pm

    Parenthood is a crazy but good thing! I love the maternity picture too, its precious!

  3. lisajp August 17, 2011 / 9:03 pm

    i’m with you…i’d rather have the motorcycle than a minivan! great post :]

  4. Becca Okaneko August 18, 2011 / 3:29 pm

    Those are all fun crazy things! Hearing about people running marathons makes me want to do one…but I can’t even run at all yet!

  5. dailycynema August 18, 2011 / 4:40 pm

    Becca – You can absolutely do it!! Seriously, I was not a runner at all until after my son was born. Pick a race, give yourself a year to get ready for it and go for it! I promise, you will not regret it.

Leave a Reply

