Day 20: Something I Wish I Could Forget

This question is an easy one to answer: I really wish I could forget what donuts taste like. I haven’t had a donut in years (literally!), but I can still taste the warm, sweet glaze on the melt-in-your-mouth ball of fried dough. Why must something so bad for you taste so damn good? Part of the reason why I’ve abstained from donuts is that I don’t trust myself with them. I’m afraid that if I let myself have even one, I may find myself hiding in the pantry with the entire bakers dozen of Krispy Kreme’s. That visual alone is enough to make me stay away from them entirely.

In all seriousness though (other than donuts) there is nothing that I wish I could forget. I am a firm believer in learning from life experience. If I chose to erase any memories, regardless of how bad or painful, I would also have missed out on the lesson learned from it. That includes a lot of the horrible things that I have seen and read in my line of work (criminology). Sometimes, as I’m driving down the road, I will get struck by the thought that right now, there are children suffering beyond belief and there isn’t a thing that I can do about it. Instead of dwelling on that thought, I have to remind myself that even though there are some horrible people on this earth that do awful things, I can do everything in my power to keep my children safe and if others think that some of the precautions I take to do so put me firmly in the “paranoid” category, then they should be grateful that they haven’t seen some of the things that I have.

Well, that was exceedingly depressing. Since I don’t have any donuts to give you (and since I don’t condone emotional eating), I definitely owe you a cute picture now to counterbalance the sadness. As an aside, that’s primarily the reason that I choose to make this blog an upbeat, silly place (and it’s also why I never watch scary movies). Life can sometimes be so scary that we need to celebrate the lightness whenever we can. Now, on to the cute picture!

My daughter has really started babbling (she’s 4 months old today). What’s funny is that when she’s angry, she starts blowing bubbles during her babbles (say that five times fast). The first time she did this, I almost called Poison Control because she looked like she was foaming at the mouth! But nope, not foam, just angry bubbles. Boy, she certainly is a cutie pie (if I do say so myself).

5 thoughts on “Day 20: Something I Wish I Could Forget

  1. Joy Williams August 21, 2011 / 6:29 pm

    I bought doughnuts at the grocery today! It would be nice to forget how goood they are!!

  2. lisajp August 21, 2011 / 11:28 pm

    first of all…your daughter is beautiful. second…i love donuts, glazed!!!! i think the devil makes them? :]

  3. Toni @ A Daily Dose August 22, 2011 / 5:47 am

    Oh my gosh, you have almost made me go on a 4 a.m. run to Krispy Kreme and it is like 40 miles away, no more describing donuts allowed LOL> Your daughter is absolutely precious!

  4. Martha(Mom on Caffeine) August 22, 2011 / 8:41 am

    Oh my, she is so cute! I think that should be in the new book of tongue twisters, blowing bubbles while babbling!
    I couldn’t agree more, we can’t take all the bad stuff away, but we can do our best to positively impact that which we can! (I can’t watch the abused animal commercials)
    Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

