Ginger and Garlic Roasted Asparagus

This was the first week back on campus for me and I completely underestimated the amount of effort it would take to have all of my ducks in a row to make sure that (1) Parker and I got out the door in time, (2) everything was ready for Lexi’s babysitter, (3) I had lectures to give to my students, and (4) everyone was fed, clothed and loved. The last couple of days, I have fallen off of the “30 Days About Me” blogging wagon (sorry!), but I have gotten in my exercise, so that’s something right?

Since I don’t have the time for a thought-provoking post today, I did want to share a recipe with you that I have been making here at the homestead quite a lot. I got it from my mother-in-law, courtesy of the Irishman’s cousin, Kim. It’s delicious and easy. Here’s what you need:

Fresh asparagus (bottoms trimmed off)
1-2 teaspoons ground ginger (real or powdered is fine)
Coconut oil or extra virgin olive oil
4 cloves minced garlic (the fresh stuff, not the pre-bottled stuff)

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Wash your asparagus and put it into a roasting pan. Drizzle it with oil, add in the garlic and ginger and using your hands, mix it well so that all of the asparagus is coated. Arrange the asparagus so that it is in a single layer on the pan and season it with salt and pepper.  Pop it in the oven and cook it for 15-20 minutes (depending on how crunchy you like your it). That’s it! Serve this up with any lean protein like a good steak, roasted chicken or my favorite pan-seared cod. It is delicious!

Leave a Reply

