Sauteed Bok Choy with Garbanzo Beans

One thing that this vegan challenge has inspired me to do is to purchase vegetables that I wouldn’t normally cook with. While I’ve passed bok choy countless times in the produce section, I never knew what the heck to do with it, so I never picked it up. This past weekend, however, I decided to just go with it and I figured that I’d just find a recipe later. So, that’s what I did. After a quick online search, I found the following recipe on vegweb.com (a website full of vegan recipes), modified it to my taste and wonder of wonders, it turned out to be great! Here’s what you need:

1 onion, diced
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1″ piece ginger, minced
1 cup green peas, fresh or frozen
1 (14 ounce) can garbanzo beans, drained
1 tablespoon tamari or soy sauce
1 large bunch bok choy, chopped

Heat a large pan to medium-high and saute the onion and the white parts of the bok choy in the olive oil. After about 5 minutes, add the ginger and allow it to soften for a milder flavor. After another couple of minutes, add the peas, the garbanzo beans and the soy sauce, stirring well to combine. Finally, add the bok choy and stir to allow it to wilt with the heat and the steam. And that’s it! In less than 15 minutes, you have a tasty and somewhat exotic side dish (for the meat eaters) or main course for the veg-heads. This made enough for me to eat it as a main dish for 3 meals. That’s some serious mileage for one large bunch of bok choy and a can of beans!

2 thoughts on “Sauteed Bok Choy with Garbanzo Beans

  1. Lins April 24, 2012 / 4:08 pm

    This looks awesome! Going to try soon!

  2. Eliza December 18, 2013 / 4:21 pm

    Had this for lunch with rice and it was very very good!!! This will be on my regular rotation –thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

