Hummus!

I love hummus. It’s a great protein-packed snack and a great addition to any meal. What I don’t love is how expensive it is if you buy it at the store. I had been contemplating making hummus for years (literally), but almost every recipe I came across required tahini, which I never had on hand and never seemed to add to the grocery list. When I lamented to a friend about my tahini problem, she sent me a recipe that used sesame seeds instead. So, with sesame seeds in hand, I decided to finally give hummus making a go. And then I had a light bulb moment. I also had sesame oil on hand (which I use quite frequently). Surely that would be an even better substitution since it was already in liquid form, right?

Thankfully, it worked! Now, I can add homemade hummus to my repertoire and I never need to have tahini on hand. Ha! I don’t know why I feel like this is such a big victory, but it’s the little things that make me happy. Without further ado, here is my tahini-less hummus.

1 can chickpeas or garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
2 tablespoons lemon juice
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1/2 teaspoon cumin
salt and pepper to taste
1-2 tablespoons sesame oil
2 tablespoons olive oil
2-3 tablespoons warm water

In a food processor, add together all of the ingredients except for the oils and water. Puree the mixture for 20 seconds or so before stopping the processor to scrape down the sides. Add in the sesame and olive oil and turn it back on. With the processor going, drizzle in water until the consistency is to your liking and the processor moves the hummus around without difficulty.

I initially added 3 cloves of garlic and boy, was it pungent! I love garlic as much as the next person, but with 3 cloves, it’s probably best that I don’t eat it before having to be in close contact with anyone. As you can see above, I decided to add my hummus to a pita pocket with cucumbers, tomatoes, lettuce and olives. It was amazingly good and even the Irishman commented on the fact that I make a mean hummus.

I can’t wait to try different variations of this recipe – adding in roasted garlic instead, or maybe some roasted red peppers. Oooh, or how about some kalamata olives? I’ll experiment over the coming weeks and let you know which versions come out the best. In the meantime, give this basic recipe a try. It was delicious.

One thought on “Hummus!

  1. Kerry Davies (@thelovebump) September 9, 2011 / 3:09 pm

    oh yummooooo!! i made mine with olive oil and it came out fab too! your recipe sounds way yummier…. now I’m on this health kick I NEED food that FILLS! the kalamata one sounds so yum. Thanks Cyn, you’re a darling xx

Leave a Reply

