Chicken and Vegetable Kabobs

With the boys giving up beef for the month of September, I’ve been trying to get creative with how I’m cooking chicken for them.  Kabobs are an easy way for me to make both a veggie dish for myself as well as a meat dish for the boys without having to duplicate my efforts. I got the following recipe from my friend Lori over at mykindarain.com and the marinade for the chicken received high marks from the boys, so I thought I’d share it with all of you!

Ingredients for the marinade (you can marinate the chicken for 4 to 24 hours):
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup soy sauce
juice of 1 lemon
2 Tbs. worchestershire sauce
1 Tbs. mustard
2 cloves minced garlic
1/2 tsp. black pepper

Cube 2-3 chicken breasts and put the pieces in a large ziploc bag. Add all of the ingredients listed above, give the bag a good massage and pop it in the fridge either the night before you’re going to make this or earlier the same day.

For the veggie cabobs, we like a mix of mushrooms, large onion pieces, red and green bell peppers, zucchini and eggplant. Since I generally use my George Foreman grill, I usually grill up all of the veggie skewers first (which takes about 8-10 minutes) before I even start the chicken so that I don’t end up with chicken fat on my veggies (it’s a freaky vegetarian thing). While you can alternate veggies and chicken on the same skewer, we prefer ours separate so that the chicken doesn’t overcook.

The chicken comes out moist and delicious (or so I hear) and the veggies, seasoned with just some salt and pepper, are delightfully simple and flavorful without any addition effort. The Irishman likes these kabobs served with rice. I’m going to try the marinade with some firm tofu and I’ll let you know how it comes out. I’m generally not a tofu fan, but I’ve decided to walk on the wild side. And yes, that’s about as exciting as things get around here these days…

PS – That orangey stuff in the picture above is Sriracha, our favorite household condiment.

Leave a Reply

