Kale Chips. Say What?

Over the last 6 months, I had heard a lot of chatter about Kale chips, but for whatever reason, they just didn’t sound appealing to me. I mean, I’ll happily much on kale in my smoothies and in my soups, but baked and sprinkled with salt? It just seemed like a weak imitation of potato chips, which happen to be my kryptonite (along with their sibling, french fries). Once my friend Lori joined in the kale chip chatter, I knew I had to try them because if she doesn’t like something, she says so.

After last week’s farmers market, I had an abundance of kale. Armed with a healthy dose of doubt, I washed it, dried it thoroughly, and then tore the kale leaves into bite-sized pieces.

I then tossed them with a couple tablespoons of olive oil and liberally sprinkled the single layer of kale with my favorite seasoned salt. I popped them into a 350 degree oven and 13 minutes later, they were done (they were just the tiniest bit brown around the edges).

With apprehension, I took my first bite. After the first one, I thought I needed a couple more to really get the full flavor. They had a delightful crispness, but they were also very delicate and airy. I took another couple of chips to decide about the flavor. While I knew it was kale, it had that salty tang that I fuels my obsession over their spud cousins. Needless to say, this is what was left of them 4 minutes and 32 seconds later.

Needless to say, I don’t know how the boys felt about them because there were none left. I can assure you that I will update that fact once I leave enough in the bowl to get their opinions, which probably means that I have to wait until they are home to make them next time because I cannot be trusted with these. The success of the kale chips has motivated me to try this process with regular potatoes, sweet potatoes and other veggies I have on hand. Let the kitchen science experiments continue!

5 thoughts on “Kale Chips. Say What?

  1. jka1217 September 14, 2011 / 9:40 am

    I really think any veggie drizzled in olive oil and seasoned is excellent, asparagus, broccoli, cauliflower, spinach, potatoes. A couple of nights ago, I did cauliflower with olive oil, minced garlic, rosemary, Parmesan cheese and parsley. Last night, I made Parmesan sweet potato fries with olive oil, Italian seasoning, and Parmesan. SOOOOO good!!

  2. Liv September 14, 2011 / 1:19 pm

    I LOVE ME SOME KALE CHIPS 😉 i ate them non stop when preggo. Now living down here in the keys, im lacking in good organic Kale. sigh. But i will definitely grab some during my next whole foods reunion.

Leave a Reply

