Baked Potato Chips. I Die.

So remember how I said I was going to experiment with baking other types of veggies in my post on Kale Chips a couple of days ago? Well, I decided to start with the most uninspired idea of all: the potato. It dawned on me that while I make french fries in the oven on a regular basis, I have never tried to make potato chips at home. The difference, of course, is solely in the thickness of the potato slice. With that in mind, I got to slicing one regular Idaho spud into very thin (almost translucent) slices.

After I sliced the potato paper thin, I dried each slice thoroughly between paper towels and then I tossed them all with a couple tablespoons of olive oil. After spreading them in a single layer on a large cookie sheet, I sprinkled them with our favorite seasoning salt (but salt and pepper, or better yet garlic salt, would be perfectly fine).

I baked them in a 400 degree oven for 13 minutes. At that point, I took the pan out, moved the nicely golden brown chips onto a paper towel and reinserted the pan into the oven for another couple of minutes to finish off the rest. The timing is the trickiest part of this whole process because they can go from done to overdone in a minute or so. Make sure you check them often and watch them closely.

Trust me, your diligence will be rewarded. I cannot even begin to describe to you the taste of a fresh out of the oven potato chip. Everyone agreed that they were seriously delicious! And by everyone, I mean me since I once again finished all of them before anyone else came home. And I may or may not have removed all evidence of said potato chips since I used (and ate) the last potato. I’m sure there’s a special place in purgatory for people like me.

I implore you, go make these. You will not believe that something quite so healthy (compared to the store bought devil chips) can taste so good.

Leave a Reply

