Perfect Grilled Cheese

Yesterday, I made grilled cheese sandwiches for the boys. My husband, who polished his off in 32 seconds, wanted to know how I got such consistent grilled cheese goodness every time I made them. Apparently, when left to his own devices, his cheese isn’t adequately melted and some parts of his bread are almost burnt while other parts are barely toasted.

So, I took him into the kitchen and shared with him my trick. He was so pleased to finally know the secret to grilled cheese goodness that I thought I would share it will all of you too! First, I don’t have the patience to smear cold butter onto soft bread. Instead, I melt a pad of butter directly onto the pan and then smear the bottom piece of bread around so that it’s fully coated.

Next, I turn the temperature down to medium low. Grilled cheese needs to cook slow and low in order to get a consistent golden color across the entire slice of bread. This also gives the cheese a chance to get gooey. While the bottom slice of bread is cooking, I put a pad of butter on top of the sandwich. When the butter starts to get melty around the edges and is easily smeared, that means it’s time to flip the sandwich.

Once you flip it, it should only take an additional 3-5 minutes to finish off the second side. I’ll start checking it after 3 minutes or so until it’s a nice golden color.

This method of cooking grilled cheese has never failed me. It’s almost impossible to screw up when your heat is on low. Sure, it might take you a couple of minutes longer, but I promise that the end results are worth the wait!

3 thoughts on “Perfect Grilled Cheese

  1. Jessica September 26, 2011 / 2:17 pm

    I saw on a cooking show that they used mayo (I wonder if soy mayo would work) – so I tried it – the results were surprisingly awesome…

  2. dailycynema September 26, 2011 / 4:15 pm

    I used to love dipping my grilled cheese in mayo! Yum…. I’ll try the vegan mayo and let you know what I think of it.

  3. Megan Adamson September 26, 2011 / 5:09 pm

    Oh, I should try that! Though, when I make ours, it’s typically on the griddle so I can make 8 at a time. Wonder how well that would work?

Leave a Reply

