Stir Fry. 4 Ways.

Towards the end of the week, I always seem to end up with a random assortment of veggies that are left over from other recipes. While I had been using these veggies to make omelets for the most part, I’d always wanted to try my hand at making a good stir fry. The only problem was that all of the recipes that I had tried in the past were just plain mediocre and it left me kind of discouraged. So, you can imagine my glee when I opened my Cooking Light magazine a couple of days ago and saw that they had a feature in there on building a better stir fry. Perfecto!

If you want to read all of the steps, here is the full feature online, but I’ll just share with you what I did. First, I washed and dried all of the veggies I wanted to use (I had green peppers, onions, red peppers, edamame and shitaki mushrooms) and cut them into bite size pieces. Then, I heated up 1 tablespoon of canola oil and I sauteed the veggies on high for about 5 minutes. After the veggies were done, I added in the Coconut Ginger sauce (recipe below) and stirred it constantly for a couple of minutes. Once everything was coated and the sauce thickened, I took it off of the heat and served it over rice (if I’d had Soba noodles, that would have definitely been preferable).

The Coconut Ginger sauce rocked my socks off! It was amazing and next time, I’m going to add in some shrimp with the veggies and serve it over Jasmine rice. I’m drooling just thinking about it. The Coconut Ginger sauce was the one that first grabbed my attention, but I’m going to definitely try the other three sauces over the coming weeks. I’m excited to have found the “magic formula” for making healthy stir fry. I love that the combinations of veggies, proteins and starches are limitless so that even if you made stir fry every week, you could go years without duplicating the same recipe.

For your eating pleasure, here are the recipes for all 4 different sauces that were in my Cooking Light magazine. Enjoy!

Ginger Hoisin (30 CALORIES)
• 1½ teaspoons finely chopped green onions, 2 teaspoons rice wine vinegar, 1½ teaspoons lower-sodium soy sauce, 1 teaspoon peeled fresh ginger, ½ teaspoon honey, 1 teaspoon hoisin sauce

Teriyaki Sauce (30 CALORIES)
• 1 tablespoon low-sodium soy sauce, ½ teaspoon sugar, 1 teaspoon rice wine vinegar, ½ teaspoon minced peeled fresh ginger, 1/8 teaspoon crushed red pepper, 1 minced garlic clove, ¾ teaspoon cornstarch, 1 teaspoon water

Coconut Ginger (35 CALORIES)
• ½ teaspoon minced peeled fresh ginger, 1 minced garlic clove, 1 teaspoon Sriracha, 2 teaspoons lower-sodium soy sauce, 1 teaspoon red curry paste, 2 tablespoons light coconut milk

Peanut Sauce (95 CALORIES)
• 1 tablespoon water, 1½ teaspoons brown sugar, 2 teaspoons chunky peanut butter, ½ teaspoon Sriracha, 1 teaspoon lower-sodium soy sauce, 1½ teaspoons rice vinegar

Leave a Reply

