Dark Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Banana Muffins.

The inspiration for this recipe all started last weekend when I saw on Facebook that a friend was making chocolate chip oatmeal bread (thanks Josh!). With the thought of warm, chocolaty bread percolating in my brain, I went into my kitchen and saw the 6 very ripe bananas just begging to be made into something delicious. The two thoughts collided, merged and these delicious (vegan!) muffins were born. I love it when spontaneous recipes are a win.

Here’s what you need:

3 very ripe bananas
1 tablespoon of cinnamon
1/3 cup soy milk
1/3 cup vegetable or coconut oil
2 cups white whole wheat flour
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup oatmeal
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cups dark chocolate chips (I used vegan, but totally your call)

First, mix together the dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, oatmeal). In a separate bowl, mash the bananas, add the cinnamon and soy milk and give it a good stir until it’s incorporated. Now, add the banana mixture to the flour mixture and throw in the oil and the chocolate chips. Mix until thoroughly combined.

This recipe made 12 very large muffins (don’t forget to spray the liners so they don’t stick), and I baked them in a 350 degree oven for 23 minutes or so. Perfecto! My husband mumbled with his mouth full, “Oh my God, these are so good!” I agree, dear.

Now as your resident blogger, I can assure you that these are good for your mental well-being. Please eat two of these and call me in the morning. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

