New Month, New Challenge. Are You In?

Now that we are officially in the holiday season, I thought that a spiritual challenge would be the perfect thing to remind us of how incredibly fortunate we are. Even in the face of hard economic times or sadness, we can always find something to be thankful for in our lives. Long time readers of this little blog know that it doesn’t take much to fill my cup: a roof over ours head, food on the table, warmth during the cold months, the continued health of my loved ones and coffee. Lots of coffee. Everything else is just gravy. Seriously.

This month, I want to invite you to take time every day to be thankful for something or someone in your life. If it’s a someone, tell that person how you feel. You’ll be amazed at what a difference your kind words make in their life. If you are thankful for a something (central heat, a working car), take 5-10 minutes to meditate on your blessings. I just read an interesting article about how meditating on the positive can actually improve the function of the grey matter of your brain. Pretty cool, huh?

I think that what you’ll find is that the kinder you are in general, the less irritated you’ll be with the little things in life. So go ahead and let that car merge into your lane, let that aggressive driver pass you, hold the door for a mother pushing a stroller,… You’ll be amazed at how much your mood will be improved when every interaction isn’t a battle.

Since practicing yoga always makes me feel like my cup runeth over, I’m going to try and increase my frequency on the mat, too. Oh and you can’t overdue this challenge, so go ahead and share your gratitude with 10 people a day if you feel so inclined!

2 thoughts on “New Month, New Challenge. Are You In?

  1. Courtney November 1, 2011 / 8:53 am

    Love it!!! Every year the girls & I make art listing all the things or people that we are Thankful for. I just finished hanging up one from 2009. We will be starting our 2011 one today! One yes & I must say I am Thankful for the Blog you write!!!! It’s great to always read from a positive person’s experiences, there is too much negativity in the world!!! Have a great day!!!! : )

  2. Kasey November 1, 2011 / 2:05 pm

    I’ve wanted to do this for a long time. I have a little journal section in my online calendar that I never use. This month I will log my gratitude list. Thanks, Cyndy! I’ll start today with I’m so grateful I met you when we were starting our training for the marathon and that we became running and buddies. You are a terrific training partner – very easy to talk with, motivating, reliable and fun. XOXO

Leave a Reply

