Parker’s 5th Birthday Party

A long time ago (yesterday) in a galaxy far, far away (the next town over), Parker had a Star Wars themed birthday party at the jump house. While the jump house itself didn’t play into the Star Wars theme (like, at all), it was necessary for my sanity to have a party at a place where kids could get out their energy.

That’s because I have a deep-seated fear of children’s birthday parties…and of pretty much any event where children congregate in large groups. Noise, chaos and tears are sure to ensue. But, I promised Parker a proper party, so I sucked it up, packed my courage (and some Band-Aids) and we were ready to roll. As soon as the kids got to the party, they had free reign of the bounce houses for the first hour of the party. Here are some pics of the insanity.

Once the kids had gotten their (inital) fill of bouncing, we headed into the party room for the Star Wars portion of events.

A bit of back story: I had the brilliant very stupid idea that it would be cute if all of the children were wearing Jedi tunics. You see, I already owed Parker a Sith Lord cloak (since I talked him out of being the Evil Emperor for Halloween), so I had the thought that if I’m already making one cloak, what’s another 13? That’s right folks, this past week, “crazy” was spelled C-y-n-d-y.

I don’t know what gave me the impression that I could make a pattern for and sew 14 cloaks in a jiffy, but I didn’t even start this project until after dinner the night before his 10am party. Now, I’m certain that you are all more intelligent than I am and would have very quickly realized the futility of starting such a project at such a late hour, but in this (and in all other “bite off more than I can chew” projects), I have an inability to abort the project once I’ve decided to do it. So I started sewing. And I sewed late into the night. And when I could no longer see straight enough to thread the needle on my sewing machine, I went to sleep…and woke up a handful of hours later before the day broke to continue sewing some more. In all, I had to re-thread the bobbin 5 times. I did, however, finish the sewing with 20 minutes to spare. Here is the result of my handiwork.

I couldn’t get Parker to stand still long enough for me to snap a picture of his cloak, but his was longer and had a hood. Here are the kids chowing down on their galaxy fare in their Jedi garb. I love how annoyed they were at my interruptions for pictures.

Lexi even got into the spirit of the party (against her will) as we dressed her in a Yoda costume that we borrowed from her cousin (thanks Sean and Brooke!). At first, she wasn’t crazy about it (check out this expression!)

Parker, however, thought that she looked fabulous and she eventually warmed to the costume.

Back to the galaxy food – you aren’t going to believe this, but I accidentally deleted all of the pictures of the food. That’s definitely a bummer, but I can tell you what I did. Here was our menu (some of which I shamelessly stole from the Internet):

  • Jedi Turkey and Cheese Sandwiches (shaped like the Millennium Falcon courtesy of my Williams Sonoma Star Wars sandwich cutters)
  • Stormtrooper Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwiches (shaped like Tie Fighters)
  • Darth Cheddars (Cheez-Its)
  • Princess Lays (Potato Chips)
  • Obi-Wan Kabob-ies (Fruit kabobs with strawberries, pineapple and grapes)
  • Jedi juice (apple juice boxes)

For the cake, I got a vanilla cake with chocolate frosting at the last minute (since I had to pass on making my own cupcakes courtesy of my sewing insanity) and I called it “Death By Darth Chocolate Cake). Here’s the birthday boy with his cake.

All in all, I think the party was a success. And by success, I mean that Parker didn’t cry, I didn’t have a meltdown and there wasn’t a need for me to bring out my First Aid Kit. Regardless, I’m thrilled that I don’t need to do that again for another 363 days.

Happy birthday Parker! Momma loves you.

One thought on “Parker’s 5th Birthday Party

  1. evie November 14, 2011 / 12:59 pm

    HAPPY 5TH BIRTHDAY PARKER,YOUR SISTER LOOKS LOVELY!!!!

Leave a Reply

