Initiative.

Earlier this week, Parker’s first day of school in the new year was cancelled due to snow (for the second year in a row). While this would normally be a recipe for fun, there really wasn’t enough snow on the ground for him to play with so he spent most of the day inside trying to keep entertained. When he insisted on going outside, I relented and suited him up for the 20 degree weather.

Since I didn’t want to take the baby outside, I was keeping an eye on him from the inside of the house. I was curious as to what he was going to do out there since his usual snow games (building a snowman, riding his sled) weren’t options.

Imagine my surprise when I saw him grab the broom that we keep by the door and head over to the car to clear off the snow. He did exactly what his dad would have done. He cleared it off of the hood, the windows and around the doors. Fifteen minutes later, he came inside, brushed off his hands and declared, “Well, that chore is done.”

I can’t tell you how proud I was to see him take the initiative to do something that needed to be done without being asked. It might seem like such a small thing, but isn’t life just a series of small things? For whatever reason, in that moment, I knew that he was going to do just fine in this big, wide world on his own.

Please remind me I said that the next time that I flip my lid over his food protests.

One thought on “Initiative.

  1. evie January 5, 2012 / 6:18 pm

    Good job Parker makes mommy proud!

Leave a Reply

